So… wanna find more authors you might like?

Hat tip to Helen for alerting me to yet another profoundly interesting, yet time-consuming/addictive website.

Check out www.literature-map.com

Come to think of it, it’s sort of a literary version of Pandora, which I discovered earlier this week.

You enter the name of an author you enjoy, and it will generate a cloud with other authors’ names surrounding your original author’s.  The idea is that the closer a name is to another author, the more you’ll likely enjoy works by that person, too.

I’ve been somewhat startled, seeing names of authors that I’ve enjoyed, but some 10+ years past, in the same cloud as a current fave.

It’s not foolproof:  I entered CS Lewis, and Frank Perretti (UGH!) was the closest.  Huh???  Is it just because they’re both Christian?  Lewis and Perretti have *so* little in common.

Here’s one for George Macdonald:  http://www.literature-map.com/george+macdonald.html  Of the names in his cloud, I’ve also read Ursula K. Le Guin, Tozer (as in “A.W.”), C.S. Lewis, Madeleine L’Engle, Dorothy L. Sayers, Rudyard Kipling, Brian Jacques, Annie Dillard, plus started books a few others on the list, or read shorter works, like essays.  But, Al Franken?????  What’s he doing on there?  Hmm…  Melissa likes Francine Rivers a lot, and I’ve been meaning to sample something from her.  Now that she’s in the same cloud as Macdonald, maybe I’ll have to bump her higher on the list!!  ;)  There are a number in the cloud of whom I’ve never heard.  Richmal Crompton?  I’ll have to find out who he is.  OH!  Just looked on Amazon.  Richmal is a woman.  And she’s a children’s author.  Hm…       

About Karen Joy

I'm a homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 17, 15 and 12 years old, and three girls: 8 and 5 years old, and our newest, born in June 2013. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and fledgling birthing class instructor. I'm a CSA coordinator for a local organic farm, Crooked Sky Farms. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on February 1, 2007, in Books I'm Reading, Interesting Websites, Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hi

    I read primarily non-fiction and without reading your post I put in CSLewis as well. I’m not sure what I expected, but Mark Twain was immediately next to Lewis.

    I do happen to like them both, but reflecting my narrow interests, I didn’t recognize any other name other than St Augustine.

    Oh well, it was fun to watch the names move around. lol

    Thanks for this post

  2. I’ll have to check this out. Speaking of George McDonald, The Day Boy and the Night Girl was great!! I’ve read two Francine Rivers books, both at other’s urgings, and I can’t believe she is on the same list as McDonald…must be b/c they are both Christians…like the Peretti/Lewis thing.

  3. ICPS ~ Thanks for stopping by! You might check out my Uncle Steve’s blog — Careful Thought, there on my blogroll. I think you’d like him.

    Jill ~ I looked up Francine Rivers’ books at the library, read the backs of a couple, and decided that I would totally not enjoy her books. I missed out when God was passing out a love for chick lit — even the refined kind, like Rivers’. Add that to the list of things that make me feel unfeminine: Doesn’t Love Francine Rivers.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 438 other followers

