Enjoy Life’s Gluten-free products still….

…mostly get the thumbs-down.

After writing a bad review a while back on my blog, the company contacted me and sent me five coupons for free product. 

I tried Soft Baked Gingerbread Spice Cookies.  These were actually really good.  They were really small, and an odd mini-hockey-puck shape, but tasty and chewy.  Still, at $4ish for a box of 12 eensy-weensy cookies, I probably won’t buy them again.

I also tried the really cinnamonny Cinnamon Crunch Granola.  ~sigh~  It’s just bad.  The actual flavor was good.  But the texture and the size of the chunks just makes it really difficult to eat.

We also got another box of Very Berry Crunch Granola.  My five year old said, “It’s a little bit not as bad as the last box!”  My 9yo said, “Maybe they took a picture of some different granola for the picture on the box.  I’m serious!  Maybe they did!”  It was still bad.  The chunk are too dense, and too large for actual granola.  It doesn’t really taste like berry, either.  There are berry seeds in the granola, and berries in the ingredient list, but doesn’t taste “very berry.”  But, at least I didn’t have to chuck this box in the trash.  I ate the big chunks dry, as a snack from the bag, and ate the smaller bits as cereal.  I will definitely NOT buy this again.  Ever.  Even with a free coupon.

We also have tried all three varieties of their “snack bars,” which are sort of like cookies.  The only one I may buy again is the chocolate variety.  However,  I think Enjoy Life needs to remove the inedible bits of brown rice flakes from the ingredient list.  They’re probably trying to add texture, but the flakes are hard, get stuck in the teeth, and generally detract from the overall result.

We have tried both varieties of their bagels.  Ugh.  The best that can be said of them is that the cinnamon ones have a nice, strong cinnamon taste.  Otherwise, their greatest use were as teething biscuits for my baby daughter.

So.  I’ve obviously given Enjoy Life’s products a good shot.  I think they’ve got a great marketing company, blitzing grocery stores and convincing them to sell their attractively-packaged items.  However, it’s my guess that unless Enjoy Life dramatically improves the taste of their products, or cuts the line down to what they do well, and not try to be so far-reaching, they’re going to tank, as a company.

I just wish that Kinnikinnick would hire Enjoy Life’s marketing company.  Kinnikinnick has such tasty, reliable food — but it’s plainly packaged, and rarely advertised, so they don’t get the props they deserve.      

About Karen Joy

I'm a homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 16, 14 and 12 years old, and three girls: 7 and 5 years old, and our newest, born in June 2013. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and fledgling birthing class instructor. I'm a CSA coordinator for a local organic farm, Crooked Sky Farms. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on May 26, 2007, in Celiac Disease, Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Gluten-Free Blogfriends and Resources. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. We’ve never cared for Enjoy Life either. I bought some cookies for my son early on but they didn’t go over well. Their cereal wasn’t too yummy either.

    I wonder if Kinnikinnick doesn’t market so much and has plain wrap so they don’t have to be so expensive. When you consider the size of the gf product you are getting for the money it’s pretty good cost-wise.

  2. Colleen Curran

    I agree to some degree about Enjoy Life’s products but have found that the bagels are good if softened in the microwave for a few seconds and then top the cinn ones with almond butter and jam. Also, they are healthy with omega 3 rather thatn just plain bagels. I also found them good toped with cottage cheese and a bit of jam for a well rounded treat. I don’t think the marketing makes much diffrence if you are living gluten free you know about these products and you know where to buy them. It makes me hungry to think of all the foods you mentioned as I live in Ireland now and am unable to get them. One more thing, the snickerdoodle cookie from Enjoy Life warmed in the micro for a few secs was my favorite. My non gluten friends would eat them too. Cheers!!

  3. I absolutely LOVE the little chocolate chip cookies by Enjoy Life- they taste like cookie dough. But everything else I’ve ever tried from them was NOT GOOD. I hear you!

    Steph

  4. I like the cookies, but I haven’t tried the other products. I’m glad to hear about the bagels – I considered ordering those but I’d have to pay extra for frozen shipping. Very glad to get a review before I went through all that!

  5. I agree with most of the comments above but do like the bagels. Of course they have to be heated. I have not been able to locate them without paying for free shipping.

    I really like the snikerdoodle cookies too! Lots of sugar! I wish the granola was better…

  6. I love almost everything I have had from Enjoy Life! I am off of the big 8 plus gluten and corn and that really limits my options. This stuff is great. I love the snickerdoodle cookies, the choco chip cookies, and the chocolate bars. The snack bars are tough but they work when I need something quick to throw in the diaper bag. I came here to read about the bagels. I’m hoping they live up to the rest of their products. Oh and they make the only choco chips I’m aware of that don’t have soy. I guess if you can still eat eggs of soy you have more options but for me this brand has been a life saver.

  1. Pingback: GlutenFreeFoodReviews.com: Gluten free products for wheat allergies or celiac disease sufferers » Enjoy Life Soft Baked Snickerdoodle Cookies- (gluten, wheat, dairy, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, soy, casein, potato and sesame free, vegan)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 436 other followers

