No, you’re not dreaming. Rice Chex IS now gluten-free!
I read, a couple of weeks ago, that General Mills was changing its Rice Chex recipe to substitute the gluten-containing barley malt with gluten-free molasses. Though I had a hard time believing it, it does fit with Gneral Mills’ policies over the last few years; they have consistently been putting forth effort to please gluten-free customers, unlike Kellogg’s, which is downright antagonistic to special diets (like adding wheat starch to formerly gluten-safe cereals, like Corn Pops). However, I checked my store’s shelves, and all the boxes of Rice Chex still had “barley malt extract” listed in the ingredients. ~sigh~ Oh, well.
However, on a short grocery run last night, I decided to check again. Lo and behold, mixed in with “old” boxes of barley-malt-containing Rice Chex were new boxes, sporting slightly different labelling, and molasses in the ingredients list!!! Woo-hoo!!! The box is even labelled as gluten-free, both on the front, and on the back.
So, if you’re like me, and really missed Rice Chex (which I’ve loved since childhood), and had to content yourself with the occasional (and very hard to find) Health Valley gluten-free Rice Crunch ‘Ems, you can now pull down — from your normal grocery shelves — an additional, tummy-pleasing box of Rice Chex.
Just make sure you double-check the ingredient list, to make sure the box you have uses the new, gluten-free recipe.