No, you’re not dreaming. Rice Chex IS now gluten-free!

I read, a couple of weeks ago, that General Mills was changing its Rice Chex recipe to substitute the gluten-containing barley malt with gluten-free molasses.  Though I had a hard time believing it, it does fit with Gneral Mills’ policies over the last few years;  they have consistently been putting forth effort to please gluten-free customers, unlike Kellogg’s, which is downright antagonistic to special diets (like adding wheat starch to formerly gluten-safe cereals, like Corn Pops).  However, I checked my store’s shelves, and all the boxes of Rice Chex still had “barley malt extract” listed in the ingredients.  ~sigh~  Oh, well.

However, on a short grocery run last night, I decided to check again.  Lo and behold, mixed in with “old” boxes of barley-malt-containing Rice Chex were new boxes, sporting slightly different labelling, and molasses in the ingredients list!!!  Woo-hoo!!!  The box is even labelled as gluten-free, both on the front, and on the back.

So, if you’re like me, and really missed Rice Chex (which I’ve loved since childhood), and had to content yourself with the occasional (and very hard to find) Health Valley gluten-free Rice Crunch ‘Ems, you can now pull down — from your normal grocery shelves — an additional, tummy-pleasing box of Rice Chex.

Just make sure you double-check the ingredient list, to make sure the box you have uses the new, gluten-free recipe.

About Karen Joy

I'm a homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 17, 15 and 12 years old, and three girls: 8 and 5 years old, and our newest, born in June 2013. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and fledgling birthing class instructor. I'm a CSA coordinator for a local organic farm, Crooked Sky Farms. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on April 7, 2008, in Celiac Disease, Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Gluten-Free and Food Allergy Resources. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I found you by accident. Without a diagnosis, I am looking to go gluten-free. My mom is gluten intolerent and I just feel better without it. Yeah, for Rice Chex!

    I am also a Christian homeschooling mom. (Somewhat tired of homeschooling after 14 years, but still at it none the less.)

  2. found you by mistake also and enjoyed the info on chex. Finally another interesting snack. Thanks for the update. Will look into your site later.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 437 other followers

