“Way with words puts Valley boy in D-backs booth”

Grant, shaking Daron Sutton's hand

I’ve blogged a few times about my son Grant winning a contest which allowed him to go on air during a TV broadcast of Sunday’s Diamondbacks game.

Our many thanks to the charming Arizona Republic reporter, Lisa Nicita, for writing such a great story about Grant’s experience on Sunday, when he treated by the Diamondbacks and FSN Arizona to the best day of his life.  Lisa stayed by Grant’s side pretty much the whole time we were there.  I was worried that he would talk her ear off, but she assured me that in her business, that was a good thing.

(If you’re local, you can find this article in the Arizona Living section of today’s Republic.)

Grant Reill woke up at 5:45 Sunday morning and couldn’t go back to sleep. He had too much energy.

In just a few hours he would experience the “greatest thing that has ever happened to him.”

Grant, 8, would sit in a broadcast booth between Daron Sutton and Mark Grace and watch pitcher Randy Johnson take on the San Diego Padres. And he would be able to put in his two cents’ worth.

Read the rest here…

About Karen Joy

I'm a homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 17, 15 and 12 years old, and three girls: 8 and 5 years old, and our newest, born in June 2013. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and fledgling birthing class instructor. I'm a CSA coordinator for a local organic farm, Crooked Sky Farms. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on April 23, 2008, in Arizona, Baseball, Contests, Family, Sports Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Grant sure doesn’t lack confidence! Sounds like he had a blast.

  2. You must be so proud of him! Making his mark at such a young age! It sounds like a fantastic experience.

    Thanks very much for visiting me back at my blog! Yeah, I found you through tag-surfer, by searching for gluten free. My friend has just discovered the possibility of having coeliac disease, and her mother has a definite diagnosis so they’ve made (as you will know) some pretty sudden and drastic alterations to their diet.

    And, I hate to disappoint you, but although I’m living in Cardiff, I’m not Welsh. I moved from London to Wales when I was nine, but I did marry a Welshman, and my children are Welsh so I suppose I’m settled here. However, ironically, I’m the only one of our combined families who can speak Welsh!

    I’m enjoying reading your blog regularly (you’re in my blog-surfer thing) and look forward to hearing more from you!

  3. That is soooo cool!!!!!!

    In case I haven’t already said it, Congratulations on the prize winning essay, Grant!! :)

  4. That’s just the coolest thing EVER! What a great article and picture! You should post his essay – I’m sure I’m not the only one who’d love to read it! :)

  5. They alluded to commentary, but didn’t quote it. Inquiring minds want to know.

  6. Thanks, everyone!!!!

    His essay isn’t going to blow any literary doors off of anything, but is as follows:

    Why I want to be a KidKaster

    I love sports, especially baseball. Also I dream of being a baseball player when I grow up. I watch sports whenever I can! And I’ve never ever been on TV I also have a wide vocabulary. I also speak very well. That’s why I want to be a KidKaster.

    THE END

    Believe it or not, that was nearly a full page, double-spaced, in Grant’s handwriting. The FSN guy who helped us with everything said that there were 26 entries. They made copies of all of them and circulated them around the office, then voted. The thing that swayed them towards Grant’s essay was his big THE END on the end. :D

  7. That’s so cute! I love the vocabulary and speaking well parts. ;) Great job, Grant!!

  8. Grant you did a great job. My daughter Karleigh was the “KidKaster” for June 15th. After she saw you she wrote her essay and sent it in. Karleigh had a blast just like you did. Great Job!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 437 other followers

