Best Gluten-Free Flour Mix Ever

We just got back from our vacation last night.  I slept 11 hours last night, and woke up this morning still tired.  I told my husband, “I feel like I could sleep for two days!!”  I probably could.  Now that I’m 6.5 months pregnant, it doesn’t help fatigue that I have a baby pushing up on my lungs, diminishing my lung capacity.

Anyways.

I will soon post vacation pics and stories.

In the meantime, as I’ve been going through my 183 e-mails, I’ve been having an e-converstaion with a fellow celiac, who is in need of some support.  She, among other things, asked what flours I used.  For a cake recipe I sent to her, I told her that 1/2 sweet rice flour and 1/2 sorghum flour would work great.  But, for my everyday baking, I now use a flour mix that I semi-recently concocted.

I have been working for literally YEARS, tinkering with mixtures to make a genuinely all-purpose mix.  I think I’ve finally found one.  I’ve been using it for about six weeks, and have used it in all sorts of recipes, sweet and savory.  For me, a real test of a flour mix’s effectiveness is how well it works in super-simple recipes, like for biscuits.  Everyone in the family says that the biscuits I’ve made from this flour are the best I’ve ever made.  My husband said they’re better than the pre-celiac/regular wheat flour biscuits I used to make.  Woo hoo!  I haven’t tried them in shortbread, which, IMO, is the extreme-simple test of g.f. flours…  If anyone beats me to it, and tries it in shortbread, let me know your results.

Notes:

  • I say “part” instead of cups.  Sometimes, I use a 2-cup measure, sometimes I use a 4-cup.  Especially when I’m using larger amounts, I don’t even worry about exact measurements.  Don’t bring out the knife and level it off.  Try to keep it as simple as possible.
  • For xanthan gum and potato FLOUR, I use 1 tsp per cup of flour.  Since there are 3 tsp in one Tbsp, and 4 Tbsp in a quarter cup, when I’m using the 4-cup measure, that equals a slightly rounded 1/4 cup measure.

Best Gluten-Free Flour Mix Ever

  • 1 part brown rice flour
  • 1 part sorghum flour (also known as jawar or juwar flour)
  • 1 part white rice flour
  • 1 part sweet rice flour
  • 1/2 part corn starch
  • 1/2 part potato starch
  • 1/4 part millet flour (either ‘black’/bajri or ‘normal’ yellow)
  • potato flour – 1 tsp per cup
  • xanthan gum – 1 tsp per cup

Whisk together VERY thoroughly in a very large bowl.  Store in tightly covered container — I use gallon ziploc freezer bags.  If you bake a lot, and will use all the flour within two-three weeks, simply store in your pantry.  Otherwise, store in fridge or freezer.

June 25, 2011 — I just sent this e-mail to a reader who was bemoaning the cost of the above ingredients.  I sent her this reply with hints to find them for less:

Getting started with gluten-free baking is, indeed, very pricey.  Most ingredients, as you have found, are not ones that are readily available (at least, for cheap) at the neighborhood market. 

If you live in/near a large city, your best bet for at least some of the ingredients are an Asian market.  Unless you’re well-acquainted with your local Asian market, prepare to spend a LONG time finding the ingredients you need.  All of the Asian markets I’ve been in are typically organized per country:  An aisle for Japanese, an aisle for Chinese, and aisle for Indian food, and aisle for Middle Eastern, etc.  So, rather than there just being ONE aisle for flour, you’ll be criss-crossing the store to find each ingredient.  But, once you find your way, and remember where each product is located, it’s worth it, because the prices are typically 1/4 – 1/3 (or better) than a regular grocer.  Also, if you have a smart phone, bring it along while shopping, so you can Google the name of a flour to find its English-language equivalent.

White rice flour and sweet rice (also called glutinous rice four) are typically available for 70 cents to $1.00 per 12-16 oz bag.  The regular rice flour is typically in a clear plastic bag with red ink.  Glutinous/sweet rice flour is usually in a bag with green ink.  (You can probably find them in other packaging, too, but the red and green packages are really common, and usually the least expensive.)  Corn starch, potato starch, and millet flour (with the Middle Eastern food, usually, for yellow millet.  Black millet — bajri — you can find in the Indian section) I buy from my Asian market, as well.  I also buy sorghum from there.  Sorghum is used a lot in northern Indian cuisine, and is usually called Jawar or Juwar flour.

Oddly, you will probably NOT find brown rice flour in an Asian market.  Both Bob’s Red Mill and Arrowhead Mills make brown rice flour.  Usually, Arrowhead Mills has the best price.

Xanthan gum is expensive.  It’s typically in 6-8 oz packages for $9-11 per package.  However, at my local natural grocer, they have xanthan gum in bulk for $5.99 lb.  Still expensive, but half of “normal.”

Potato flour is very expensive, as well.  I buy Bob’s Red Mill. 

The only good news about the most expensive ingredients — xanthan gum and potato flour — is that you only use a few teaspoons per recipe.  However, that is only effective if you do a LOT of gluten-free baking. 

So….  if you plan on only making one or two items, and don’t want to make a giant investment, you might be better off buying ready-made mixes.  :)

Hope that helps!!


 

About Karen Joy

I'm a homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 17, 15 and 12 years old, and three girls: 8 and 5 years old, and our newest, born in June 2013. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and fledgling birthing class instructor. I'm a CSA coordinator for a local organic farm, Crooked Sky Farms. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on July 31, 2008, in Celiac Disease, Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Dairy-free, GF Recipes, GFCF, GFCF Recipes, gluten-free. Bookmark the permalink. 87 Comments.

  1. Karen girlfriend, you rock, thanks for holding my hand through a very difficult 24 hrs. You made it alot easier for me….
    :-)

    Gayle

  2. Literally or figuratively 183 e-mails? You’re scaring me……

  3. Gayle ~ Thanks!!!! :D I had a great time chatting w/ you. Glad to help.

    Shellie ~ Literally! But, with the local Freecycle group, the Phx Celiac group, and my extended family loop, it all adds up quickly.

  4. I haven’t found a perfect biscuit recipe… what do you use other than the above flour blend? My hubby’s favorite dinner is biscuits and gravy and needless to say, that’s kind of hard to do these days!
    :)
    Jamie

  5. Looks like a great one, Karen — Thanks for sharing it!

    (BTW — I finally had a couple of sandwich bread loaves turn out well (we were wanting to use almond meal) last night. Five months and version #11 ;) — I’ve never been so excited over a loaf of bread in my life!)

  6. Thank you for sharing this, Karen! I have been computer-reduced lately and have lost all of the emails that had anything to do with my GF questions.

    I couldn’t remember what the mix was and hadn’t had time to Google your blog. I bought a baking mix at the store the other day and it is not great. The biscuit recipe calls for soy yogurt, which I don’t have. Wish I had seen that before! That must be what holds it together and keeps the sodium content under control. *scrapes tongue with teeth remembering those powdery salt blocks*

    I’ve loved catching up on your blog! You have so many interesting things to say!

    Take care, friend!

    Esther

  7. I’m confused-could you clarify the “1 tsp / cup of” method? However many cups of all you end up with (say 12), means 12 tsp? Thanks.

  8. Yes, Jen, that’s exactly it. 12 cups flour mix would require 12 tsp xanthan gum (and potato flour). 12 tsp equals 1/4 cup.

  9. Hi Karen,
    Thanks for your mix, I’ve been trying the bought GF flour (Orgran) and its OK but not that great. Made Anzacs today (Australian biscuit) and they are just OK. I’ll have a big shop at the health food shop and try your mix. Thanks and cheers, Sam from Aus

  10. I’ve tried this recipe, but I have to substitute for the corn starch. I’m allergic to corn. What would you recommend as an alternative? Arrowroot starch? More potato starch?

    Thank you for your help.

  11. Sam ~ Let me know how your baking efforts turn out with my mix recipe!!

    Holly ~ I think tapioca would be my first choice as a substitute for corn.

  12. Hi, that does look like a good mix! Can you please clarify what you mean by potato flour? Is that the dried potato or the more starcy, refined product? I think they are called different things in different parts of the world.
    Thanks!

  13. To Holly! I am also allergic to corn and want to caution you also about the xanthan gum. You might substitute arrowroot powder. Karen, would that have a similar property?

  14. Karen ~ What’s the caution about xanthan gum? It can be made with glucose, which can come from corn, but the whole process chemically changes the glucose so greatly that it would GREATLY surprise me if anyone allergic to corn would have a problem w/ it. Plus, xanthan gum can be derived from other sources, too, not just corn. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Xanthan_gum That said, guar gum (which is derived from a seed) could work, but I find guar gum harder to work with, and not as effective.

  15. Hey, just wanted to let you know that I’ve been baking lately with this mix and making great food that gluten eaters love too! Thanks soooooo much!

  16. Can I just double check here….

    if i was to do:

    2c brown rice flour
    2c sorghum flour
    2c white rice flour
    2c sweet rice flour…

    is ” 1/2 part” = 1c and “1/4 part” = 1/2c ????

    Just wanting to make sure!!!

  17. Karen,

    I’m just so thankful for this!!! I’m 27 (very nearly 28) and just got diagnosed with Dairy, Egg, and Gluten allergies…soooo it’s been hard to find breads that I like. Bread was my FAVORITE CARB, so I’m gonna try using this in my bread making recipes (store bought DF,GF,EF are nasty). :) I’ll let you know how it goes!

    Oh yeah, it’s way cool to see another sister who is one Worship Team at her church shining God’s light on the inet! ;) Blessings to ya! I found this via google link…it was like the top ten on my search results. You should really patent it and sell it girl! One result was this Jule’s mix thing and it sells for $19.99 a 5 lb bag…I about passed out! 20 bucks for flour??? are you SERIOUS???? dang!

    Anyways, thanks so very much for sharing this. It’s a huge blessing for me right now!

    Now your homework is coming up with a dairy-free cheese that actually tastes good! HA!

  18. I just did a google search on “best gfcf flour,” and yours was the 3rd or 4th hit–and the first one that was helpful. I’m trying it!

    My son is autistic, and I want desperately for him to have “normal” food options. Thank you!!

  19. Yay! You inspired me to try and make my own GF flour – I used your basic proportions and just substituted for what I had in my pantry (I’m also corn & potato intolerant). Then used the new flour to make an egg-free, gluten-free Banana bread (http://glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.com/2007/11/banana-chocolate-chip-bread.html). IT TURNED OUT AWESOME!!! Thanks Karen!!!

  20. Christy DiFelice

    Hello,

    My sister is extremely gluten intollerant and this recipe is amazing! i can’t wait to try it. In the past, i have difficulty making gluten-free breads (because they are more complicated than cookies). Can I substitute this flour for bread flour when making bread, or will i need to modify a recipe (by adding vinegar, etc).

    Thanks!
    Christy

    • Christy, I’ve used it for bread. You’re right, bread is almost always tricky, and a lot harder to master than cookies. But, it should turn out just right, cup for cup, with no other modification. However, you’ll probably want to use a generic g.f. bread recipe, because, as there’s no gluten in g.f. bread to develop by kneading, it’s usually just a different PROCESS than baking regular bread, and usually, g.f. breads start out wetter than gluten-containing breads.

      Let me know what you try, and how it turns out!

  21. Hi There!

    I just wanted you to know that I’m sharing the love in terms of your all purpose gluten free flour mix. I’ve put it up on several sites but have it linked back to here. Hope you don’t mind. If you do, let me know and I’ll delete the posts as needed.

    Thanks!

    ~ Lori

  22. I’m finally getting around to mixing this, and I just want to check… When you say “1 tsp per cup,” you mean that if 1 part = 1 cup, then use 1 tsp. Right?

  23. Hi Karen,

    So, i tried the mix for bread (with some extras) and it worked well. I then tried it for biscotti…and did not work well (at all!). I don’t have a flour mill to grind up the sweet rice, but used a burr mill, food processor, and coffee grinder, which is maybe the problem? i just can get all of the grit out of the grain. Do you have any suggestions? I’d like to avoid buying a flour mill, if possible

    • Christy, I’ve never ground my own grains. I simply buy sweet rice flour, most recently at the Asian market (it’s also called glutinous rice — but it does NOT have wheat/rye/barley gluten), but Bob’s Red Mill and Ener-G also make sweet rice flour. Sweet rice flour needs to be super-fine, and I just don’t know if you could get the right consistency, grinding it at home.

      • Hi Karen: Good News!

        I’ve recently discovered that the mix works just fine for biscotti. However, it is necessary to let the cookies cool completely before eating. I find that there is a funny aftertaste to the flour (in warm cookies, at least). However, it seemed to go away when i ate one the next day! yay!

        I also used the flour to make pasta. obviously, it wasn’t as good as regular flour, but it did work okay. i’m going to play with that recipe just a bit.

  24. “•For xanthan gum and potato FLOUR, I use 1 tsp per cup of flour. Since there are 3 tsp in one Tbsp, and 4 Tbsp in a quarter cup, when I’m using the 4-cup measure, that equals a slightly rounded 1/4 cup measure.”

    Am I missing something? 1tsp per cup would equal 4tsp per 4 cups, that’s like a slightly rounded tbsp, not a slightly rounded 1/4 cup.

    Sorry, I think the gluten I ate at thanksgiving dinner is making me math intolerant.

    • Sorry, Marilyne, my wording is confusing there. What I mean is when I’m using a 4-cup measure as my “PART.” So, I use the 4 cup measure five times (four parts plus two half-parts, plus the 1/4 part of millet flour), which equals more than 20 cups total of flour…. which would actually equal almost a HALF cup of xanthan gum. Clear as mud???

  25. I tried to get the ingredients for this flour blend today. I got everything I didn’t already have except the millet flour. Any tips on where to find this flour? Whole Foods did not have it, nor did my local HyVee grocery store that carries a lot of GF/CF flours and products.

    • Joy, I would suggest finding an Asian market, if there’s one in your area. In the Indian section, look for “bajri” flour. That is millet. It is dark (“black”) millet, but it still works. Or, you could order it online. (Like from Bob’s Red Mill — they have reasonable prices, but then you have to pay for shipping. And wait for it to ship.)

  26. So this just might be the dumbest question ever, but as first a non-baking person, and now a non-baking person who is trying to learn the ropes of gluten free cooking, I just have to ask:

    When using this mix for something like bread or cake, I have to add baking powder, right? Since you used 1TBSP for 2 cups on the biscuit recipe, I’m assuming that’s the correct ratio for most other recipes. I really tried to look around and see before bothering you, but I’m just not sure. Also, I’m gathering that I can use this mix for just about anything, right? Anything it doesn’t really work that well with? Thanks so much!

    • That’s not a dumb question. Some mixes (like Bisquick) include both the fat/oil and leavening like baking powder. This one is just flour.

      How much baking powder you use really depends on the recipe. However, biscuits usually require a lot more baking powder than cakes or other baked goods.

      I have used this mix for LOTS of different baked goods from quick breads (like banana bread & muffins) to yeast breads. The only thing that it really won’t work well in is a super-white kind of bread, like angel food cake or in something like french bread. However, if you’re new to g.f. baking, I wouldn’t even attempt angel food cake or french bread, so you should be safe. :)

      In general, heavy batters (like for carrot cake, banana bread, cookies with a lot of stuff in them) turn out better for new gluten-free bakers than lighter things like hamburger buns, french bread, etc.

  27. Karen,
    Do you use this mix cup for cup with any recipe? Does it work well with cookies and other baked goods?

    • Yes, Karen. It’s a cup-for-cup recipe. I have used it for all sorts of baked goods, both sweet and savory. The only thing that it would NOT work well for is a super-light cake, like angel food cake, or a white cake (where you need it to be really white — this mix is more of an off-white).

  28. Hi Karen. I am brand new to all of this as I am a mom of a precious 3 year old boy with several food allergies due to Eosinophilic Esophagitis. I am desperately searcing for an “all purpose” GF flour. Can you help me tweak your “Best GF flour mix Ever” recipe as my son is allergic to: dairy, soy, rice, oats, rye, barley, tomatoes, chicken, ham/pork, green beans, peas, wheat, corn, white potatoes, eggs, and bananas. could you possibly suggest alternatives to the rice flours, cornstarch, and potato flours in your recipe? I spent a small fortune on the following flours so I’m hoping to come up with some mixture based on what I have just invested in: tapioca flour, arrowroot flour, amaranth flour, quinoa flour, sweet sorghum flour, teff flour, coconut flour, buckwheat flour and xanthan.

    Thank you!

    Jill Brady

    • Jill, THANK YOU for doing your best to provide for your son’s needs. I know another mother with an EE son who “cheats” nonstop, and her son is always so ill. It breaks my heart.

      OK. Here’s what you need to know about flours: In order to make a good mix, you need a good balance of starch and protein. Wheat, of course, is an ideal mixture in itself, but we can’t have that. So, we need to mix what we do have. Many high-protein flours are also heavy, and that will result in brick-like baked products. Most high-starch flours are too gummy on their own and will give you a gloppy product that isn’t at all bread-like. Also, many high-protein flours are strong-tasting, and will result in an overwhelming/unpleasant taste. There’s also fiber to consider. If you’re baking heavy things (like cakes, quick breads, muffins), you’ll do better with a higher-fiber, darker flour mix. If you’re trying for lighter things like cookies and breads, you’ll want a lighter color, and perhaps a lighter fiber content.

      SO. Your only starches are the tapioca and arrowroot. All of the other ones (including coconut) are high-protein OR high-fiber. I would suggest you start experimenting on your own to see what works best. Just write down what you’ve tried. I would suggest, for starters: 1 cup tapioca, 1 cup arrowroot, 1/2 cup teff, 1/2 cup sorghum, 1/4 cup coconut, 1/4 cup buckwheat, 1/4 cup quinoa, 1/4 cup amaranth, and 1 Tbsp xanthan gum. That will give you about 4 cups of mixture.

      OR… start more simply — 1 cup EACH tapioca, arrowroot, sorghum, and teff, along with 1 Tbsp xanthan gum.

      As you add the flours to your mixture, take a little pinch of each flour and taste it, just to help familiarize yourself with the ingredients. I will tell you now that quinoa is very strong-tasting (but it is high in protein and not a heavy flour), as is buckwheat and amaranth. Sorghum — which I love — gives a very slightly tangy taste to many baked goods that some people don’t like. When you taste them, if you don’t like the resulting flavor, you will have a better idea of what you may want to leave out, when you tweak it next time.

      Then, take your four cups of flour, and try it in 2-3 baked goods to see how it works.

      If you want, come back onto the blog, and leave me a comment, or shoot me an e-mail (karenjoy@onlysometimesclever.com) and we’ll work through it, to get you the best mix possible!! Once you have a good mix that works for you, make up a big batch, and store it in the fridge (or just your pantry, when it’s cooler) and you’ll have it at hand when you’re ready to bake something!

      ONE more thing. Do NOT start with yeast bread. That is the most difficult gluten-free baked good. Try cookies or muffins, or a quick bread — like banana bread or zucchini bread. Plus, many quick breads really don’t need eggs. You may want to Google “vegan gluten-free” and that will get you some recipes that have no eggs and no dairy.

      You’ll just have to do a LOT of experimenting.

      Blessings to you!! Come back any time.

      WAIT! One more thing. Xanthan gum is cultured with a bacteria on corn sugar. Many people who are extremely sensitive to corn cannot have xanthan gum. Consider trying guar gum instead, which is made from a ground seed (technically a legume).

  29. Karen,
    Have you ever used your flour mix to make a pie crust. If so, is it tender and flakey. I can’t seem to make a good pie crust. Do you have a recipe?
    Thanks, Karen Hunter

    • Karen, I need to find a new recipe myself. My problem is that I try one recipe, and it works great, then next time, I forget which recipe I used, and have to reinvent the wheel. :) One thing I have learned is this: Roll out your pastry semi-thick, then double it over and roll it out again (sort of like phyllo dough). Do this at least four times — six is better. Then, your dough will be in layers, and will have a better tendency to be flaky.

      Next time I make pie, I will try the recipe and tell you how it works…. but that probably doesn’t help you for right now. From what I know of flours, though, it should work well for pastry/pie crust.

  30. Hi there, I am new to this and would like to try your flour mix. I was just wondering how much potato flour to use. It says one tsp. per cup. Does that mean 1 tsp. per cup of finished mixed flours? (so if I end up with 20 cups of mixed flours, I would add 20 tsp. of potato flour?) Sorry if this doesn’t make sense.
    Thanks so much for posting the recipe.

    • Yes, Susan, that’s right. Except, I just use the starting-out cup measurement, instead of measuring the finished product.

      For example, if my “part” is 4 cups, I’m going to end up with 21 cups, following the recipe. So, 21 tsp = 7 Tbsp, which also equals 1/4 cup plus 3 Tbsp.

      I hope that clarifies!!

  31. Hi Karen,

    My mom was just diagnosed with gluten sensitivity so I have been trying to come up with recipes for her. I’m having an awful time with the flour mixture and have tried some premade ones, but they either haven’t worked well, were too sweet or contained potato starch and potato flour. I want to try your flour mix, but my mom is allergic to potatoes. Is there anything I can use instead?

  32. ok, I am confused. in your GF flour mix as it is written what does the 1 part mean 1 cup, 2 cups or 4 cups? How I am understanding what is written, if I follow it I would be working with 4 1/4 cups of flour and 1 cup of starch and then add potato flour and xanthan gum accordingly? Is that correct?

    • Ann-Marie, I’m sorry for the confusion. It is meant to be flexible, depending on how much flour mix you want. So, YES. If you use one cup per “part”, you will end up with 5 1/4 cups of flours/starch (in g.f. baking, starches are considered flours), 5 tsp xanthan gum and 5 tsp potato flour (if you can find it — it’s hard to find). Thanks for the comment!

  33. Kristan Ornelaz

    Hello, I was going to try the above flour mixture, but I got very, very confused on the proper amount of xanthum gum and potato flour. Do you add up the total number of cups you mixed of flour, and then add the appropriate conversion? Or if you are using the 6 cup ration for all the flours do you only use the one time 6 cup to figure out the conversion? Would it be based on 6 cup or based on 24 cups? Thanks

  34. Kristan Ornelaz

    OR Could you just add the Potato Flour and Xanthum Gum when you intend to use it per cup. So if I was baking cookies and it called for 3 cups of the mixture minus the two ingredients, could I just add 1 1/2 tsp of each at that time. Or is this not the proper way to calculate?

    • Yes, Kristin, this would work just fine. I just pre-mix everything in advance, so I only have to pull one ingredient out when I need to make anything with flour.

      • Kristan Ornelaz

        Thanks Karen,
        I still am a little confused how you config how much when you mix it all together. I think I will stick with adding it as I need it. I use guar gum and xanthum gum interchangably depending on what I am baking. If it is something where I need more moisture I use Guar gum and dry/crispy baked goods I use the xanthum gum. Thanks again.

        • Kristin, I was responding to your first comment/question when my computer lost connectivity. Sorry about that!

          If you’re still considering mixing it in (although your idea is a good one — to change up guar and xanthan based on what you’re making), it’s like this: Say your “part”, according to the recipe, is 1 cup. You’d end up with 5 1/4 cups of flour, so you’d use 5 1/4 teaspoons each of xanthan gum and potato flour.

          I usually use a 4-cup part, so I get a big batch that I can store in the fridge (or pantry if it’s cooler, or if I’m going to be using it quickly). So, that results in 21 cups of mix. 21 teaspoons is a lot of measuring… there are 3 tsp per 1 Tbsp, so 21/3 = 7. There are also 4 Tbsp to a quarter cup, so you could just call it 1/4 cup plus 3 Tbsp.

          Sorry about the confusion! I was trying for a very flexible recipe, depending on the needs of the baker, but it has caused a minor uproar! :)

  35. Kristi Laughinghouse

    Karen-
    I was recently diagnosed with Celiacs and i believe my daughter has it as well, although none of my kids have been tested. I am experimenting with making my own bread and am trying your flour out. Can you tell me if i am going to make regular sand which bread what would be the recipe with your gf flour mix and any instructions? We are also going to be homeschooling as well!! Thankyou!
    Kristi Laughinghouse

    • Kristi, on the “49 GFCF Recipes” link above, under the Savory Breads category, there are a number of bread recipes. My fave recipe, and the one I use LOTS is the last one: “Super Simple…” However, it has a weird ingredient: mung bean starch, that is hard to find, unless you live near an Asian market. Otherwise, try one of the other recipes.

      Unfortunately, gluten-free yeast bread can be really tricky, and really discouraging, even for a seasoned baker who has been baking g.f. for years.

      If none of my recipes look do-able for you, do a Google search for ["gluten-free sandwich bread" recipe] — no brackets, with quote marks. Also, my friend Kim has an award-winning recipe you could certainly try! http://gfrealfood.com/2010/01/15/kims-whole-grain-gf-df-bread-simplified-version/

      One thing that may help you is to try a not-so-healthy bread first. A recipe that is primarily white rice and starches will likely turn out better, and more easily, than a wholegrain-type recipe. HOWEVER… you don’t want to be eating like that, long term. Since most starches, rice, corn, and sugar are gluten-free, it’s actually really easy to eat an UNHEALTHY g.f. diet… (my 2 cents!)

  36. karen,

    first thanks for the flour mixture – a total life saver and I’m now experimenting some more.

    My son can’t have eggs :(

    I tried egg replacer and found it made things gummy. So I dug through some GF cookbooks and found using 1 tsp of baking soda with 1/2 tsp of Asorbic Vit C Crystals per cup of flour worked for pancakes / waffles but not in other items.

    Here’s my question – Have you had much luck when you use the egg replacer in baked goods – do you mix it with warm water first, just add it? Have you tried the baking soda / asorbic vit C?

    Oh, one other bonus with the Vit C crystals is that I mix it in water with a little sugar and can slice fruit and send it in my son’s lunch and it doesn’t turn brown which is a huge benefit.

    • Michele, I had never heard of vit C crystals as an egg replacer! I’ll have to remember that.

      Egg Replacer (the product) ONLY works in baked goods, and not in things that are really egg-dependent like, say, sponge cake or custard. I mix it in with the other dry ingredients, rather than mixing it first with water.

      You also may want to try chia seeds or ground flax seed. Those you DO have to mix with water and let sit for a while until thickened. Also guar gum can work as a replacer — you have to use that with dry ingredients.

    • I’ve found a lot of luck with ground flax seed gel as an egg replacer for no more than 2 eggs: simply mix 1 Tablespoon of ground flax seed with 3 Tablespoons of warm water, let sit for 10 minutes, then add to your recipe.

  37. This is so great! Thank you for taking the time to share. If I use red mill all purpose non wheat, how much xanthem gum do I add per cup?

  38. Hi, ive been researching for such a long time to find a flour ideal for baking and making gravys, sauces etc. I started using spelt and kumut flour and my partner said ”its the best muffins youve ever made” then finding out they infact arent gluten free after finally finding a flour that tastes so similar to regular wheat flour its very frustrating. I am sick of buying flours that arent cheap and then they taste so bad. i live a extremely busy life and finsing time to even find a asian market then make the flour is even a mission. Do you make the flour and sell it?

  39. hmmm i just realised this website is probably in a different country. Im in Australia?
    If you dont sell your flour blend can you re write your recipe in cups/tea spoons/tablespoons? All the different comments is confusing ^.^

    • You’re right, Emma, I’m in the States. For “part”, just use “cup”. So, each one that says “one part” is just “one cup”. Then, if you like the flour mix, you might want to make a bigger batch, and make “one part” as TWO cups. Then, each 1/2 part would be one cup, each 1/4 part would be 1/2 cup (one-quarter of two cups = 1/2 cup). And so on.

      • Ok Karen thanks for that. I’ll have to check out the markets then and I will make a small batch to try at first and then hopefully it will be awesome and I can make up big batchs and freeze as the asian markets are a fair way from my place.

  40. Can you use this flour for fluffy yeast breads, rolls? Or is used for heavier breads like banana bread?

    • Natalie, you can definitely use it for yeast breads & rolls. However, “fluffy” is a relative term in gluten-free baking. I suggest you make a small batch and try it out, to see if it meets your needs and expectations. :) I’d love to know your results, good or (hopefully not) bad; feedback really helps!

  41. Hello Karen, I also am new to this whole gluten free thing:( I REALLY like your flour blend but I find pretty much all GF products to have a gritty texture. I’m guessing that comes from the rice flour??? Do you have any suggestions of a flour that could be mixed in place of say the white rice flour to alleviate some of the grittiness? I was wondering if adding coconut flour or almond meal flour would work as a substitute? By the way your knowledge has already made this switch SO much easier for me and I really appreciate you putting this recipe online for everyone to use!!!

    • Actually, Amber, usually the rice flour is NOT gritty — it’s probably sorghum or millet, or in other mixes, other grains other than rice. However… rice by itself typically doesn’t have enough protein to make a good sub. Other grains (like millet & sorghum) are higher in protein, but are a little gritty. One good sub is a bean flour — like garbanzo or fava or a host of other bean flours found at an Asian market. However, some people really don’t like the taste. Similarly with some other flours (like amaranth and quinoa), they have the right protein/fat/carb ratio, but they taste too strongly. That’s why g.f. flours are almost always a mix — both for the right ratio of protein/fat/carb plus taste and texture. As you bake g.f., I encourage you to experiment until you find something that works for your palate. For this particular recipe, I can recommend replacing the millet flour and/or the sorghum with garbanzo flour. Oh, one more thing — some flours have odd colors. For instance, anything you make with garbanzo flour is going to be kind of yellow-y. There really isn’t any one flour that makes a good sub for what wheat does, how it tastes, how it looks, etc. :(

  42. What would you sub coconut or almond flour for? I see some flour mixes that have them in them but don’t know what to take out to sub them in? Thanks again:)

    • Coconut is *REALLY* tricky because it absorbs a ton of water (tending to make the results very mushy) and it has a ton of fiber.

      Almond is kind of the opposite: It doesn’t absorb any water. You can ADD almond meal/flour to any recipe and have it turn out fine. (1/2 cup almond flour to about 4 cups of other stuff.)

      Coconut… I still haven’t mastered it, so I’m not sure what to suggest. I have one recipe that I’ve incorporated coconut flour in very successfully (for pancakes), but that’s about it. I would try taking out only about 2 Tbsp at a time of another “heavier” flour and subbing it until you get a mix that works well for you.

  43. I don’t know if someone already commented on this, but if you are having difficulty locating a relatively cheap potato flour, check out the spanish or african market sections. It is typically near the fufu flours. I just bought one at my local Americana Grocery for $2.49/10 oz.

    • THANK YOU!! I think “fufu” is the general name for flour of any kind… I have found African oat flour and a number of other flours and starches, but I never thought about finding potato flour there!! Thanks!

  44. Karen I used your GF flour mix, I did sub out the corn starch with tapioca starch because to me corn starch seems to give baked goods a funky taste and I used guar gum rather than xantham gum just because that is what I have open right now. I made some banana bread using the mixture where the recipe called for regular flour and our room mate declared it the best banana bread he has ever tasted! He stated that if I had put walnuts in the banana bread, he would have married the loaf!:)

  45. Is it okay to leave out the potato flour? I seem to have everything else in my pantry except for that. Would this be ideal for a cake?

    • Yes, on both accounts. I like potato flour, because it adds moisture without gooey-ness, and lends to an overall finer texture. But, I have made this mix w/o potato flour — which can be hard to find — and it works just fine.

  1. Pingback: The Best GFCF (not-very-healthy) Biscuits Ever « Only Sometimes Clever

  2. Pingback: Gluten-Free Gems … GFCF Pop-Up Pancakes | In the Life of a Child

  3. Pingback: GFCF Danish « windyprairie

  4. Pingback: Kitchen Sink Carrot Cake (GFCF) « Only Sometimes Clever

  5. Pingback: Ups and downs on the farm « Only Sometimes Clever

  6. Pingback: Cranberry-Orange Scones (GFCF) « Only Sometimes Clever

  7. Pingback: Garden! Honey laundering! Motivated Moms! Obsessed with bread! New glasses! Hiking! « Only Sometimes Clever

  8. Pingback: More Joys of Gingerbread: Mini Gingerbread Houses!

  9. Pingback: Seasonally Inspired 5 Course Yule Menu!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 437 other followers

