I throw down the veggie gauntlet. (A contest!)

**CLARIFYING**  You do not have to “beat” my family’s veggie consumption in order to win.  You just have to leave a comment with your own family’s weekly produce total.**

You could win a prize.  For real.  Homemade cookies, baked by yours truly.  Gluten-free and dairy/casein-free, and very tasty. As many varieties as I end up making.  You’ll receive three dozen.  Perhaps more.  So, keep reading.

Our current schedule has me grocery shopping every Wednesday evening.  It’s a marathon type grocery shop, in which I visit three or sometimes four stores, over the course of 3-4 hours.  I’m always trying to lessen the time it takes, but to little avail.  If I get home before 11:00, I’m pleased.

As I unload the groceries — in fact, even as I’m shopping — I start thinking, “How am I going to fit all of these in the fridge?  In the pantry?  We’ll never eat this much.  In fact, maybe I can get away with not shopping at all next week!”  But, it never fails:  We eat the food.  And, the next week, I have to go out again.

Baby bok choy

A huge portion of our grocery bill is from fresh fruits and veggies.  We eat a LOT.  A lot.  In fact, I decided to add it all up and figure out, on average, how much each member of our household eats.  Then, I thought I’d run a little contest…  I’ve decided against giving the award to the family who eats the most, because that would be too hard to prove.  So, you have to do is simply participate in order have a chance to win a package of cookies, mailed Priority Mail, from me!

I simply want you to get ONE WEEK’s worth of grocery receipts and total the poundage of all the fresh fruits and veggies, and divide that by how many family members you have, resulting in average pounds of produce per person, per week. OK?  If you purchased 16 pounds of various fresh fruits and veggies, and there are four people in your home, that would be an average of four pounds per person, per week.  And, I know that bigger people eat more than smaller people, but we’re going to ignore that for now, OK?

Rutabagas!

And why is this??  Just because I am curious if anyone out there eats more produce than we do!!  However, even if you eat way less, please play along!!

The only guideline is that it MUST be fresh.  If you purchased a 10 lb bag of potatoes, and you know you’re not going to eat all of them in one week, that’s OK.  It still counts.  Fresh herbs count, too.  Packaged veggies & fruit count if they’re fresh — like bagged salad — as long as there is nothing added to them, like croutons and the like.  Frozen, canned, or dried items, just for this contest, don’t count. Nuts don’t count, either.  For example, this last shopping trip, in addition to what is list below, I purchased six 15 oz cans of petite-diced tomatoes, four cans of green beans, two 12 oz packages of frozen peas and one 12 oz package of frozen baby lima beans, 0.94 lb of dried cranberries, 0.74 lb of raw sunflower seeds, and nearly two pounds of almonds.  But, they don’t count.  :)

I will pick the winner at random on Friday, December 3rd, 2010, so you have three weeks to enter.  Use only one week of produce purchases, though!  You have more chances to win if you publicize the game in more than one way.

  1. Leave a comment below with your per-person fresh produce consumption (that is the only requirement).Other things you could do:
  2. Write a blurb on your blog, leaving a link to this post and/or
  3. Put a link on your Facebook page.
  4. “Like” the OSC Facebook page
  5. Um, I guess you could tweet it  (I don’t have a Twitter account, but I’ve seen other bloggy contests where the person hosting the challenge encourages others to tweet. )
  6. If you find some other way to publicize the contest, just leave a comment here and tell me about it.

So, if you leave a comment, blog about it, post it on FB, add OSC to your FB “Likes”, tweet, and run a little blurb in your local newspaper, you’d get six chances to win.  :D

Not that anyone must write it out like this (though you can, of course, if you’d like!  I’d seriously LOVE to see what others are eating), but I’m going to list out all my fruit & veggie purchases:

At Lee Lee Oriental Market:

  • 1.64 lb chin kung choy (baby bok choy)

    Mexican Grey Squash (a little squatter than zucchini, and much less bitter)

  • 2.25 lb turnips
  • 0.42 lb fresh ginger root
  • 0.56 lb fresh peeled garlic

From Sprouts Farmers’ Market:

  • 5 lb carrots
  • 3 lb baby carrots
  • 5 lb baby watermelon (guessing on the weight of that one — it’s two little seedless watermelons)
  • 2.56 lb broccoli
  • 1.5 lb celery (guessing on that one, too — one bunch of celery)
  • 0.94 lb hot house cucumber (I weighed it — one cucumber)
  • 1.83 lb Mexican grey squash
  • 0.95 lb parsnips
  • 4.0 lb pink grapefruit (they were 4/$1 — such a deal! — and I did weigh one this morning, and it checked in at one pound even, so I’m estimating the total weight)
  • 1.06 lb red bell peppers (three small ones.  I weighed them on my kitchen scale)
  • 0.50 lb red onion
  • 2.54 lb red skinned potatoes
  • 1.62 lb rutabaga
  • 3.86 lb fuji apples

From Fry’s:

  • 4.37 lb seedless red grapes
  • 2.25 lb lettuce (3, 12-oz bags)
  • 1.01 lb roma tomatoes
  • 0.75 lb fresh mushrooms
  • 4.67 lb bananas
  • 2.0 lbs carrot chips (Yes, that makes ten total pounds of carrots.  We eat a LOT of carrots.)

That makes 54.28 lbs of fresh produce.  We have seven people in our family, so that makes our average per-person consumption at 7.75 lbs per week.

So…  What’s yours?

About Karen Joy

I'm a homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 17, 15 and 12 years old, and three girls: 8 and 5 years old, and our newest, born in June 2013. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and fledgling birthing class instructor. I'm a CSA coordinator for a local organic farm, Crooked Sky Farms. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on November 12, 2010, in Contests, Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Shopping. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Okay, I’m in. I’m glad you didn’t stick with the MOST veggies idea because that’s definitely not us. I try but my kids eat more than I do. I’m not a veggie fan. This will be a good opportunity to remind myself to eat more! “A’ll be bock!” (said with a fake accent, thanks Arnold).

    • Oh my… seriously? Back in Jan or Feb of 08 I posted that I’d purchased about 300# of fruit in the month. It was about 10# per day, and we had 8 people.

      But since we moved I’ve slacked. The last shopping trip had 15# apples, acorn squash, spaghetti squash, and butternut squash, 6 heads of romaine lettuce, 1# baby spinach, 10# onions, 10# potatoes, 4# bananas, 2# tomatoes, 2# cucumbers, 3 garlics, a head of cabbage (3#?), 3 pomegranates and a mango. Oh and 5# carrots. 1# celery. So 65#? ish? For 9 people, although we have an extra boy most nights (but he almost never eats veggies!), and we had 12 extra people last Saturday, and we’ll have maybe 20 on Sunday.

      • I remember that, Amy! I didn’t remember the poundage or anything, but as I was typing the post, I thought, “I think Amy did something similar to this, a while back…”

  2. I love this contest! What a great idea. I never keep track of anything, but some homemade gluten free dairy free cookies made by anyone but me really makes things interesting. This post is not my official entry I am guessing because I haven’t kept track but I hope to come back when I have my produce tally. Also, we belong to a farm share so I just have weights and measurements for the farm share produce–most of which I eat because it is kale and beets and squash. Off to post on facebook and tweet your contest. Lessens my odds, but happy to spread the word and hoping for good karma. Thanks for a great contest.

  3. OK, OK, I’ll enter! And I’ll put in on FB. AND I’ll link to it and write a blurb on the food blog.

    What is tricky is….what if part of what we eat is from our garden. Do I have to show you the receipts? :-) Do you trust me? I’m very competitive and don’t want to miss having an edge. LOL!

    Daja

    • Daja, I put a little note at the top of the post, clarifying. You don’t have to “beat” my family! You just have to note how much you eat, weekly, which is purely to satisfy my curiosity. I’ll trust you to be reasonable with your garden estimates. :)

      If I get enough entries, I am considering doing a second prize, for the family who DOES eat the most…. but to enter, for now, you just have to play along.

      • Oh I know I don’t have to beat you. I’m just competitive! LOL! Just got back from grocery shopping and started calculating my totals. Trader Joe’s prices everything per piece and not by weight so I weighed my bananas and such when I got home.
        :-)

        I won’t post the totals yet because I often go to Farmer’s Market later in the week. So, we’ll see!

  4. Ohhhh, we would love some cookies! We don’t spend much on produce (or food in general) but here’s mine….3.22 per person!

  5. OK, so I didn’t get around to blogging it on the Gomboblog. SORRY! I really wanted to! But, I didn’t post it on by FB page and a few other people’s FB pages that are GF. Thought they’d like to win the prize! :-)

    My total shopped for was 5.625 per person, not including what grew in our yard, which I wasn’t very good at keeping track of. But, we have oranges, lemons, and herbs right now from our yard. So, it is likely about a pound more per person maybe? Don’t know.

    Thanks for extending the entry a day! I totally forgot to enter in time!

  6. Hahaha, we eat less than half the veggies you guys do! I’m working on it!

  1. Pingback: Last chance for the veggie contest!! Did I miss anyone?? « Only Sometimes Clever

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 437 other followers

