Fresh Ginger-Roasted Yams

I love yams.  Not the goopy, syrupy yam sludge that is an unfortunate mainstay of American Thanksgiving meals.  But real yams, cooked in a healthy and appealing way.

Red Garnet Yams (sweet potatoes)Well, what makes a “real” is a subject of much debate.  Is it a yam?  Or a sweet potato?  My favorite is a Red Garnet, which I guess is technically a sweet potato.

We eat yams year-round, and I have cooked them in just about every way imaginable.  Often, I cube them and toss with LOTS of ground allspice, a teensy bit of brown sugar, salt and Earth Balance Soy-Free (which is the most buttery non-dairy “margarine” on the market, in my opinion).  This is my 9 year old son Wesley’s favorite dish of all time.  Recently, though, I made a dish that was a bit of an experiment.  I was so tickled with the results that we will surely be seeing it on the Thanksgiving table, if not sooner.

One note about cooking temperatures: You can roast yams at just about ANY temperature.  One reason I bake them so often is, no matter what the temperature at which my main dish is cooking, I can throw a casserole dish of yams right alongside of it, and the yams turn out fabulous.  They are nigh impossible to burn or overcook, particularly if you’re using very little (or no) sugar.  They can sit for hours in a warm oven and stay wonderful.  If you are baking them (or warming them), don’t stir frequently, unless you want mashed yams!  When I made the recipe below, I was roasting a turkey (another “holiday” dish we eat year-round) at 325°F, and cooking time for the yams ended up being about 90 minutes.  However, you can roast yams at up to 450°F, which will likely decrease the baking time to about 40 minutes.

Fresh Ginger-Roasted Yams (click for printable pdf)

Generously serves 6-8

  • 3 medium-large yams (about 4 pounds), peeled and cut into 1/2 – 3/4″ cubes –
  • 1/4 cup butter, butter substitute, or olive oil
  • 2″ section of fresh ginger root, peeled and finely grated
  • 2 Tbsp dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt

Preheat the oven to 325°F (or hotter — see note above).

Place cubed yams in a medium-sized mixing bowl.

In a microwave-safe small bowl, melt the butter.  Drizzle the melted butter over the yams, and toss (or stir with a silicone spatula).  Add the finely grated ginger root, brown sugar and sea salt and toss until the ginger is evenly distributed.

Place the yams in a 2-3 quart covered casserole dish and bake until tender, testing with a fork after one hour.  Depending on the size of your casserole dish, the yams will be completely cooked in 60-90 minutes.

NOTE: After you have placed the yams into the casserole dish, resist the urge to stir.  This dish produces roasted cubed yams, and if you stir, they will mash easily, especially after they are done or nearly done baking.  When they are completely cooked, the yams will loose their cloudy appearance, and turn a deeper, more saturated color.

 

About Karen Joy

I'm a homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 17, 15 and 12 years old, and three girls: 8 and 5 years old, and our newest, born in June 2013. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and fledgling birthing class instructor. I'm a CSA coordinator for a local organic farm, Crooked Sky Farms. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on November 17, 2010, in Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Dairy-free, GF Recipes, GFCF, GFCF Recipes, Vegan. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. You can crockpot these little beauties too – walk away, and come home to soft, yummy sweet ‘tators! I often serve them mashed, with just cinnamon on the top. Easy and everyone loves them.

  2. I make these often too. It is our staple to have with steak. I bake them and then smother them in virgin coconut oil and a pinch of salt. I love the idea of having them with ginger. I’m going to have to try this!

  3. Karen Joy,
    Thanks for sharing your recipes. I tried the carrots and parsnips that you posted a few weeks ago–so good! I will try this recipe also.

  4. We love sweet potatoes (or yams) as well, and eat them all year. I wanted something not “sweet” for Thanksgiving this year, and spent much time searching for a recipe. I found this one, and am so excited to try it!

    (by the way, I’ve been following your blog for quite a while now. Though we have no food allergies in our family, we still try to eat “clean” and healthy. We will be moving to Prescott AZ within the next year or so, and I love reading about your state. Thanks for this blog!

    http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-detail.asp?recipe=497752

    • Amanda, the only thing that looks a bit startling about the recipe to which you linked is the turmeric. A whole teaspoon? Have you cooked with turmeric before? I sometimes use a little, more for coloring than for flavor (I’m not generally a fan of curries, and curries typically have a fair bit of turmeric)… If you’re not familiar with and/or not a fan of it, I would use 1/2 tsp, tops.

      • Karen, I have used turmeric a few times. And we generally DO like curry… But you are right~ that seems like a lot. I hadn’t noticed that before. This was the first recipe after a loooong time of searching that I found for a savory sweet potato dish. I wonder if I could change up the spices a bit… :) Thanks for pointing that out for me! I hope you and yours have a fantastic Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 436 other followers

