Creamy Lemon-Honey Slaw Recipe

So, I’m hesitant to post any more recipes as there has been an explosion in foodie blogs with fabulously styled pics that people can post to Pinterest and drool over while they are inspired…

Here’s my pic to go with this recipe:

Fi and Daddy with slaw, cropped

Classy, eh??

You may just have to believe me that this is an excellent recipe.  I have five children, and it is challenging to find or create a recipe that EVERYONE loves.  However, all seven of us were fighting over who could have thirds of this.  (In the end, no one had thirds.  We saved enough for my husband to take to work with him the following day with his lunch.)  My six year old, Audrey, who is not a particular fan of cabbage said, “You know what makes the red bells and the carrots and the cabbage taste so delicious?  It’s the sauce.”  I thanked her for her excellent review, and decided that I would post this recipe, even without a Pinterest-friendly photo.

Indeed, “the sauce” is what makes this slaw taste wonderful.  It has a flavor that is classic enough to make it taste like “real” coleslaw, but healthy enough that you may never again return to sugar-laden slaw again…  I have made our slaw like this for years, with no regrets.

Click here for a printable PDF of the recipe

Creamy Lemon-Honey Slaw
serves 8

1 red bell pepper, finely diced
2 medium carrots, peeled and finely grated
1 small-to-medium head of green cabbage, shredded
1/3 cup honey (preferably raw and local)
3 Tbsp organic lemon juice
2 tsp dijon mustard (I love Trader Joe’s!)
1/2 tsp sea salt
freshly ground black pepper, to taste
1/2 cup real mayonnaise (again, we use Trader Joe’s)

Into a glass container, measure the honey.  Warm (in either a pan of hot water or in the microwave) the honey so that it is thin.  While still warm, whisk in the lemon juice.  When incorporated, whisk in the dijon mustard, salt, and pepper.  When incorporated, whisk in the mayonnaise until the dressing is smooth.

Gently fold in the red bell pepper, carrots, and cabbage.

Enjoy!

About Karen Joy

I'm a homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 17, 15 and 12 years old, and three girls: 8 and 5 years old, and our newest, born in June 2013. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and fledgling birthing class instructor. I'm a CSA coordinator for a local organic farm, Crooked Sky Farms. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on January 8, 2013, in Clean Eating, Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Dairy-free, GFCF, GFCF Recipes, gluten-free. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Sounds yummy!

  2. This sounds awesome – my mouth is actually watering! Unfortunately, we haven’t been able to eat cabbage pretty much since the big earthquake/tsunami. We have been very careful about what we eat due to radiation, and for some reason cabbage is one vegetable that I haven’t been able to find from a safe area. I have been craving cabbage lately, and I am saving this recipe to use as soon as I get my hands on some!

  3. I made this yesterday and it was really tasty… The dressing is wonderful! I didn’t shred the carrots, though, I matchsticked them, and I added a couple of apples, some radishes and a bit of red onion. Delish!

  4. This looks great, I’ll try it this week. Many of your recipes catch my eye, I wonder if you would consider adding a plugin that allows readers to print a standard recipe card size vs. a full sheet? THank you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 437 other followers

