More birth pics of Baby Jean… correcting my memory

My friend Stephanie was at the birth of Jean Marjorie Joy, born on June 25.  She had her camera, and I knew she took a few pics.  But I didn’t know just how many until today, Jean’s six-week “birth day.”  Right after the birth, Steph went on vacation and was then busy with a number of other things.  She gave me a flash drive with her pics on it, a week and a half ago.  I don’t know why it took me so long to view the pictures…  Mixed emotions, I guess.  However, when I did, I cried good tears…  Collectively, they tell a tale of love, and of a day that shouldn’t be forgotten.  There are a whole bunch of pictures immediately post-birth, for a space of about sixteen minutes that I somehow forgot:  I just somehow absolutely didn’t recall those minutes, at all.  But, seeing the pictures, it all came back to me, even how it felt, to have baby Jean up on my swollen belly, only a minute post-birth.  “Oh… yes… I do remember that!  I remember it now!”  (You can read the original birth story, here.)

3718

My dear husband, Martin.

3719

He’s so attentive to me.

3721

Wouldn’t YOU love a man who held your face like that?? I would.

3722

Martin, and sweet Fiala, too. I look pretty relaxed in this picture, but believe me, I felt like I was dying.

3727

My brown-eyed girl, Audrey.

3730

I <3 him.

3739

This was three minutes before Jean emerged. Note Fi’s hands over her ears!! And she’s watching the action quite closely!! I thought the girls left the room well before Jean was born, but I guess they were slow-motion minutes… Fi hung in there a good long time.

3743

I ripped my hair elastic out. Or someone did it for me. LAST push.

Like my friend Daja, who had her baby boy, Tegshee Walker, only a couple of weeks ago, there are some awesome crowning and baby emerging photos… But I can’t publish those.

3746

I can’t really show you the picture where Martin caught baby Jean, either. But this pic was taken only one minute after her birth. He must have handed her right off to me. Until I saw this picture, I absolutely did not remember this moment.

3749

Again, one minute post-birth. I remember now, feeling vast relief, feeling extremely shaky, not quite believing that this was my baby, but at the same time KNOWING she was, indeed, my dear baby.

3751

Alicia’s blonde head on the left, my midwife Pam on the right. Me in wonder.

3759

They were rubbing her down, helping her to pink up. I had previously remembered people doing that, but the bizarre thing was that I hadn’t remembered that baby Jean was IN MY ARMS when they were doing that.

3763

The best Daddy in the world. He loves her so.

3767

Only three minutes post-birth.

3769

I love her.

3771

First kiss as a family of eight. :)

3772

Jean has Martin’s brow.

3778

Audrey decides to come back in.

3804

Martin’s hand over mine, on our baby’s chubby, fuzzy back. And MARTIN is the one who put her little hat on. Again, while she was in my arms. But I hadn’t remembered that.

3816

Miss Squishy, 23 minutes post-birth.

3817

Daddy, Mommy, baby, love.

About Karen Joy

I'm a homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 16, 14 and 12 years old, and three girls: 7 and 5 years old, and our newest, born in June 2013. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and fledgling birthing class instructor. I'm a CSA coordinator for a local organic farm, Crooked Sky Farms. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on August 6, 2013, in Babies, Family, Friendships, Home birth, Marriage, Memories, Midwives, Motherhood, Pregnancy, Relationship, The Dear Hubby, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Made me cry! Hope you are doing well!

  2. Thank you for sharing these beautiful photos! Blessings!

  3. I am all teary-eyed.

  4. I got all teary and reminiscent looking at your photos. Thank you for sharing. May God bless you and your family always.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 436 other followers

