Daily Archives: January 5, 2006

Blogging & forums & friends & myspace

(copied from my MySpace Blog) 

Thursday, January 05, 2006

Current mood: pensive

I’ve been feeling really old, really left behind by technology…  I’m 32, which is relatively young, I think…  Yet, there’s nothing like creating a myspace to help someone feel totally lost & out of it.
I’ve struggled w/ this whole idea of myspace.  It seems to be all about meeting people, which I’m really not into.  It seems really strange to me for folks to read, perhaps, the bit I’ve written about myself and then want to meet me.  And, stranger, still, for me to start browsing for potential friends.  I have, many times, felt just shy of “friendless” but am I that desperate?  Ummm, no.  I don’t feel friendless right now, anyways.
I’m really appreciative of the Sonlight forums.  One one hand, IRL friends are immensely valuable, and of deep significance.  But on the other hand, having a forum of mostly like-minded women (mostly women — I kinda ignore the posts from men.  I think, in a very unkind judgemental way, that really they don’t belong there) from which I can draw, from which I can learn, to which I can contribute, has been, in a way, even more valuable.  I don’t have many local home schooling friends.  I don’t have many friends who have had four kids on purpose.  I have often felt very alone struggling w/ celiac disease.  I have felt odd having a husband in ministry — there are quirks and sacrifices and understandings that are outside of “normal” work that I usually just don’t talk w/ anyone about, b/c it would be hard for anyone outside of public church ministry to understand. 
Yet, on the forums, I have found thousands who not only home school, but use the curriculum I do.
There are hundreds (maybe thousands) of families on the SL forums who have four, five, six, even 10 or 12 kids.  Not that I want 10 or 12 kids, but it’s nice to be in a community where four kids doesn’t seem excessive, and I don’t have to explain myself for being pregnant again, and no one assumes it was an accident, which it wasn’t.
On the SL forums, there are many women who have celiac disease, or who have kids w/ it, or who are at least on a gluten-free or wheat-free diet.  I can share & receive recipes, give & get tips about restaurants, or get information on some other resource…
And there are lots of families in ministry on the SL forums.
One friend I have had for nearly two years has ALL these same things in common with me.  I consider her my best friend, but I’d never have met her w/o the SL forum.
We’ve been talking (e-mailing and private message-ing) about the oddness & appropriate/inappropriateness of having a best friend whom one hasn’t met IRL.
And now, blogging…  I like to write.  I’ve always journalled.  Journalling has the same dilemma, for me, as blogging, only blogging is more extreme in the dilemma, which is this:  does one write with such abandon as if no one will ever read the journal/blog?  Or does one write with the view that someday, someone will (or at least might) read it?
It seems rather exhibitionist, in a way, to blog.  Yet, I’ve read a few blogs that have (not that I’ve read many) encouraged me, or inspired me.  I’m writing this, in fact, after reading one such blog.  And, I like the idea of the woman who went through the whole Julia Child cookbook in a year and blogged her experiences.  The whole thing got turned into a book, which I read has been optioned for a movie.  I think that would make a good movie, b/c the little I’ve read was really entertaining…
So, this dilemma has kept me from even starting a blog, though I’ve wanted to for a while.  I type a whole lot faster than I write, and blogging is — at times — a lot more convenient than journalling….
I don’t know.  I haven’t quite figured out all my thoughts about the whole thing. 
I’ve barely figured out myspace. 

Alexander McCall Smith

(copied from my MySpace blog) 

Thursday, January 05, 2006

Current mood: thoughtful Category: Writing and Poetry Does talking about an author fit into “Writing and Poetry”? I found it odd that there’s no blog subject for “Books.”  Does that mean that the MySpace creators assume we aren’t reading??  But, then, there’s that “I’m reading” thing one can post on the blog.  Hmmm….. I’m newly a part of a book club.  At least, I think I am.  It was a new start-up, and I went to the first meeting. I’m forever reading, b/c I home school my kids.  We’re reading through The Cricket in Times Square right now, which has been pleasing to all of us.  And in the curriculum we use, most of the resources are actual BOOKS, not texts.  But, there hasn’t been a lot of personal reading on my part, which is why I was so happy for the book club.  The idea is (was?) to read one contemporary author (or contemporary-ish), and one classic.  Our first book was The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith.  I never, never would have just picked this up on my own, even though I like mysteries.  The hokey title alone would have ensured that I didn’t even peruse the dust cover.  But, I’m now glad that I was “forced” to read it.  It is a delightful book.  But, not “delightful” as in frilly & light.  The book isn’t drudgery, to be sure, but it’s not really a light read, either.  It has emotional depth, and addresses rather significant situations.  In Africa.  In Botswana, to be exact. No. 1 is written by a Scotsman who was born in Africa, and taught in Botswana.  One of the things I found most engrossing about the book is its un-American perspective.  Not ANTI-American, but un-American.  I’m not sure how Mr. McCall Smith got to understand the psyche of women so well, let alone a Batswana.  But, he seems to have done so, completely. Now, I just finished reading the fourth book in the series, and have the fifth awaiting me.  There is also a sixth that just came out that I’ve seen at the library, but have not yet checked out.  I’ve liked them all, though the first still seems most magical.  I don’t know if that’s because it was an altogether better book, or if it just seemed so, b/c it was totally NEW to me.  I also read the first book in another series, The Sunday Philosophy Club, but I didn’t like it as much.  Its set in Edinburgh.  Now, I love Scotland;  I’ve been there twice.  But it wasn’t nearly as compelling reading about the gentle life of a 40-ish woman in Edinburgh as it was reading of a 30-ish woman in Gaborone.

Currently reading : The Full Cupboard of Life By Alexander Mccall Smith Release date: By 25 January, 2005
