Blogging & forums & friends & myspace

(copied from my MySpace Blog) 

Thursday, January 05, 2006

Current mood: pensive

I’ve been feeling really old, really left behind by technology…  I’m 32, which is relatively young, I think…  Yet, there’s nothing like creating a myspace to help someone feel totally lost & out of it.
I’ve struggled w/ this whole idea of myspace.  It seems to be all about meeting people, which I’m really not into.  It seems really strange to me for folks to read, perhaps, the bit I’ve written about myself and then want to meet me.  And, stranger, still, for me to start browsing for potential friends.  I have, many times, felt just shy of “friendless” but am I that desperate?  Ummm, no.  I don’t feel friendless right now, anyways.
I’m really appreciative of the Sonlight forums.  One one hand, IRL friends are immensely valuable, and of deep significance.  But on the other hand, having a forum of mostly like-minded women (mostly women — I kinda ignore the posts from men.  I think, in a very unkind judgemental way, that really they don’t belong there) from which I can draw, from which I can learn, to which I can contribute, has been, in a way, even more valuable.  I don’t have many local home schooling friends.  I don’t have many friends who have had four kids on purpose.  I have often felt very alone struggling w/ celiac disease.  I have felt odd having a husband in ministry — there are quirks and sacrifices and understandings that are outside of “normal” work that I usually just don’t talk w/ anyone about, b/c it would be hard for anyone outside of public church ministry to understand. 
Yet, on the forums, I have found thousands who not only home school, but use the curriculum I do.
There are hundreds (maybe thousands) of families on the SL forums who have four, five, six, even 10 or 12 kids.  Not that I want 10 or 12 kids, but it’s nice to be in a community where four kids doesn’t seem excessive, and I don’t have to explain myself for being pregnant again, and no one assumes it was an accident, which it wasn’t.
On the SL forums, there are many women who have celiac disease, or who have kids w/ it, or who are at least on a gluten-free or wheat-free diet.  I can share & receive recipes, give & get tips about restaurants, or get information on some other resource…
And there are lots of families in ministry on the SL forums.
One friend I have had for nearly two years has ALL these same things in common with me.  I consider her my best friend, but I’d never have met her w/o the SL forum.
We’ve been talking (e-mailing and private message-ing) about the oddness & appropriate/inappropriateness of having a best friend whom one hasn’t met IRL.
And now, blogging…  I like to write.  I’ve always journalled.  Journalling has the same dilemma, for me, as blogging, only blogging is more extreme in the dilemma, which is this:  does one write with such abandon as if no one will ever read the journal/blog?  Or does one write with the view that someday, someone will (or at least might) read it?
It seems rather exhibitionist, in a way, to blog.  Yet, I’ve read a few blogs that have (not that I’ve read many) encouraged me, or inspired me.  I’m writing this, in fact, after reading one such blog.  And, I like the idea of the woman who went through the whole Julia Child cookbook in a year and blogged her experiences.  The whole thing got turned into a book, which I read has been optioned for a movie.  I think that would make a good movie, b/c the little I’ve read was really entertaining…
So, this dilemma has kept me from even starting a blog, though I’ve wanted to for a while.  I type a whole lot faster than I write, and blogging is — at times — a lot more convenient than journalling….
I don’t know.  I haven’t quite figured out all my thoughts about the whole thing. 
I’ve barely figured out myspace. 

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on January 5, 2006, in Friendships, Homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Anyone else having bother with myspace or is it just my pc?
    Last couple of days it seems it wont let me download any song from anywhere.
    Anyone having same bother – or anyone how to sort it?

  2. i’m eric. joining a couple boards and looking
    forward to participating. hehe unless i get
    too distracted!

    eric

Leave a Reply

