The Semi-Reluctant Feminine Reader

(copied from my MySpace Blog) 

Tuesday, January 10, 2006

Current mood: contemplative

 

Dh gave me Captivating by John & Stasi Eldredge for Christmas. I thought, “That’s good.” Not b/c I was excited about reading it, but b/c I thought I probably need it. It’s all about femininity; the subtitle being, “Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman’s Soul.” I’ve never felt very girly, and have often thought that there was some list of Girl Rules that I must have missed somewhere.

But, I’ve recently felt a desire to be more feminine, and that desire has turned into a NEED, now that I’ll be mom to a girl; I want to impart to her a Godly and healthy view & sense of what femininity is all about, and I can’t give that to her if I don’t understand it myself.

So, it was with much dragging of feet, so to speak, that I cracked open the book. But there on the first page of the introduction, Stasi Eldredge writes: “Rest assured — this is not a book about all the things you are failing to do as a woman. We’re tired of those books. As a new Christian, the first book I picked up to read on godly femininity I threw across the room. I never picked it up again. In the twenty-five years since, I have only read a few I could wholeheartedly recommend. The rest drive me crazy. Their messages to womena make me feel as though, “You are not the woman you ought to be — but if you do the following ten things, you can make the grade.” They are, by and large, soul-killing.”

I decided I liked Stasi Eldredge, and that I would happily read her book if that was her perspective on the matter.

Then, I got a little worried about why dh gave me this book. I asked him, and he said, “I want you to read it. I hope you like it. I hope God speaks to you while you read it.” I decided not to over-complicate what my dh said, and take him at his word that he just wants me to enjoy it & hopefully hear from God while reading it.

And, what’s this??  Yet another book I’m reading that MySpace doesn’t have??  I’m shocked :rolleyes:.  Makes me feel like I’m in college again, when I’d find the perfect book that fit exactly what I was looking for, and then come to find out it hadn’t been checked out in 30 years.  I would think, “Surely, I’m not the only person in 30 years who wanted to know about this!”  So, now… “Surely, I’m not the only person on MySpace who has read this book!”  Maybe I am…

Currently reading :
Captivating : Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman’s Soul
By John Eldredge
Release date: By 07 April, 2005
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on January 10, 2006, in Books I'm Reading. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

