Cutting teeth out of order

Baby teeth usually grow in a fairly specific sequence — usually the top or bottom two incisors are cut first, followed by the other pair that didn’t cut through the surface first.

Audrey cut her first tooth, her bottom right incisor, on October 5, the day before she turned 6 months.  The last few days, she’s been acting… not herself, and I figured it was b/c she’s cutting another tooth.  I kept checking, though, and couldn’t find it.  Finally, I made a good sweep of her whole mouth yesterday, and come to find out she’s either cutting the top left canine, or the baby molar that comes in right behind it!!  Ack!

I didn’t know if this cutting teeth out of sequence thing was odd but normal, or if it spoke to something more sinister.  So, I…

  • Tried to find info online.  It wasn’t an exhaustive search, but other than a couple of blogs belonging to moms whose kids were going through the same thing, I found nothing.
  • Called the nurse helpline for our insurance.  She read me a lot of stuff about teething that I already knew, but she couldn’t find any info on it, nor had she heard of that happening before.
  • Called her pediatrician.  The triage nurse told me to call a pediatric dentist, b/c they (the pediatrician) don’t deal with teeth.
  • I called the pediatric dentist, who I needed to make an appt w/ anyways, for my son Wesley.  They said to bring Audrey in when Wes had his appt, and they’d check her out for free (that’s nice), but they wouldn’t say anything over the phone.
  • Finally, I asked our family dentist, whom I saw yesterday afternoon for some dental work (ugh).  She said it was NO problem at all, and even told me how her little sister cut all her canines first, and then would make a schnuffy face/sound baring all her teeth, and everyone called her Vampire Baby.  😆  This sister grew up to have perfectly normal adult teeth.

So, after using five resources, mystery solved.  It’s uncommon, but doesn’t speak of any deeper tooth problem.  Good.

03.26.12 — Edited to add:  My daughter Audrey is now nearly six years old, and has lost five of her baby teeth.  Interestingly, she is LOSING them out of order, too — a lateral incisor fell out before both central incisors, giving her a snaggletooth look, of which she’s very proud.  🙂

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on October 19, 2006, in Medical Stuff, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 185 Comments.

  1. Thank you for your post. My daughter (5mo) is getting her teeth in a similarly “out of order” way. I also tried to track down info regarding her teeth but wasn’t having much luck until I found your post. 🙂

    • same thing is happening to my little girl she is 7 months she cut her first bottom tooth now her 2nd tooth on top is coming through

  2. A million thanks from another Outdoorsey, Mommy of two, Christian. With a darling girl cutting teeth all out of order.

  3. Hi Karen! Why do you appreciate living in the desert? Just curious!

    • I appreciate the wide, open, blue, dramatic skies, including the best sunsets ANYWHERE. I appreciate the hundreds of bird species that call the desert their home or at least migrate through here. I appreciate that for at least six months out of the year (October – April), we have the best weather of just about any place in the U.S. I appreciate that I can use my grill year-round. 🙂 I can also garden year-round. I appreciate how lovely it smells after it rains, and how dramatic our rainstorms are; they never fail to be beautiful. I appreciate that I live within a 30 minute drive of several great hikes and a national Wilderness area, and within 15 minutes of a local hike-worthy park. I appreciate that within a 60 minute drive, I’m in the pines. I appreciate the dramatic, beautiful landscape that surrounds the Phoenix area — it’s a giant valley, rimmed with mountains. There are more reasons, but those are the ones that come to mind. 🙂

  4. This is so funny! My 7 1/2 month old is cutting two teeth, one on the top and one on the bottom. She’s #5 so I thought I’d experienced “everything” but she constantly throws me for a loop.

    • My son is 6 months old and just got his first tooth on the top left and I can feel a second one about to break the skin on the bottom right.

  5. Thank you so much for writing this! My daughter is 5 1/2 and losing her bottom lateral incisor and I was freaking out because she is so young and not losing the central one first.

  6. Thank u for posting…. My guy was late getting teeth at all and now has only the bottom 3!!!! Top 4 and is getting a molar!!!! He is 15 months, he only had 2 teeth at a yr! My 1st was textbook but #2, he is off the charts unpredictable in ALL he does! Momma needs some sleep! 😉

  7. Linneau George

    Im 49 an have never heard of a teething chart lol, but my sons 2 babies are late bloomers getting their first teeth at 12mths. My granddaughter will be 16mths on April 2nd, getting her bottom front two first at 12mths without any signs of cutting any she cuts 2 molars on the top. I had never heard of it before, now i know its not the norm but not unheard of.

  8. Thanks for sharing! My son’s teeth are coming in out of order and while I told myself not to worry, it’s what mommas do.

  9. Thank you for sharing! I know this is an old post, but it has helped comfort me when my baby just cut his teeth in all the wrong order.. he’s a little vampire now.. lol.. hope you and your family is doing fine now!

  10. Also thanks from me. Little guy is 7 mos and his first tooth just erupted…lower right canine. I was so unsure about it…then read this post and no know he’s not alone.
    BTW, the link in SBtheHyg post (when you click on her name) links to a website that my Norton just blocked a a malicious attack. May want to delete that comment in case someone else clicks on it that doesn’t have a good internet security program installed.

Leave a Reply

