You must love Stan Fellows. You must love Stan Fellows. You must love Stan Fellows.

I am absolutely taken w/ the work of Stan Fellows, who illustrated the Muir book I blogged about earlier.  I’m telling ya, his watercolors are *perfect*.  At least, perfectly suited to my taste.

I spent a bunch of time Googling the apparent recluse yesterday.  His barely-existent website said to contact his art rep if one is interested in buying any of his paintings.  I am interested.  I have *no* idea how much it would cost for even a very small picture.  But, I did hear back from the art rep, and she’s checking in to see what he has available.  Here’s hoping I can afford at least a teensy painting of his.


More Stan:
www.stanfellows.com

http://www.joaniebrep.com/fellows.html

http://altpick.com/members.php?id=17865 http://www.smithsonianmagazine.com/issues/2003/january/hamilton.php?page=1

http://www.dwyerogrady.com/fellows_art.html

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on October 22, 2006, in Art, Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. rubber chicken girl

    Claire loves Stan Fellows (as commanded).

  2. rubber chicken girl

    Claire loves him as commanded (just lost the same post).

  3. rubber chicken girl

    Claire loves Stan Fellows (and I have now lost two duplicate posts–Grrrr!!).

  4. Well, now Claire loves him three times, just like I commanded!!

    I don’t know why your posts keep getting tagged as spam. I un-spammed them.

  5. Hi-

    Did you ever hear back from Stan Fellow’s agent. I just recently discovered his work myself and I think it’s amazing.

    thanks,

    Andrew

  6. that’s should be “Fellows'” not “Fellow’s”. sorry

  7. Andrew ~ Well, I had several really unsatisfactory e-mail exchanges with her. I think that either a) she just doesn’t communicate well via e-mail, or b) she’s not used to selling directly to consumers. Or something. I got frustrated with the process and gave up… but Fellows’ work has still been greatly on my mind, and I plan to try again to purchase something of his. I just kept thinking, as I was talking w/ Joanie, “I JUST WANT TO BUY A PAINTING!!!!” and for some reason, I found it really hard to work w/ her.

    Please let me know if you have more success!

  8. Don’t know if it ever worked out but much easier to talk to Stan.
    “Stan Fellows”

  9. stanatstanfellowsdotcom
    I forgot that you can’t put emails in comments

    • Wally, although I had ZERO expectation for it, a nice little friendship had been forged between Stan & me, through this blog, his blog, an occasional e-mail, and most recently, his facebook account. 🙂 If you haven’t visited his blog, you should! (Hm! Links aren’t working for me, either! Must be something with WordPress this morning. It’s http://stanfellows.blogspot.com )

  1. Pingback: Only Sometimes Clever

  2. Pingback: Things I Like « Only Sometimes Clever

Leave a Reply

