Update on my bad review of Enjoy Life’s granola

Well, though this wasn’t my purpose, complaining seems to have paid off.  I wrote a review of two gluten-free cereals put out by the same company, and they sent me SIX coupons for free product, each worth up to $5.50.  I will redeem them gladly.

The coupons were enclosed in a nice, honest, at least semi-personal letter, mentioning that there is “room for improvement on our granolas.”  

It seems to me that Enjoy Life is in the midst of a marketing blitz — I’m seeing their products pop up at stores all over the United States.  And it’s SUCH a relief knowing that I can buy anything they produce and it will be safe for Wesley.  BUT, perhaps they should have done a bit more product development before putting their stuff on the shelves.  I mean, I’m glad to have the coupons, but I wish celiacs (and others w/ food allergy and/or intolerance problems) could be assured of a good-tasting, nicely-textured product, instead of just a “safe” one.  Maybe there are other celiacs out there with tons of money to burn, who don’t care if they spend $5 on a box of something that turns out inedible, but it seems to me that the majority will eventually get tired of being disappointed by the product, and Enjoy Life will eventually lose those customers.

While on our trip (of which I will post more soon!), I bought a bunch of g.f. convenience products that I probably wouldn’t otherwise have purchased (due to their expense), including Enjoy Life’s bagels, both the plain and the cinnamon-raisin.  They both tasted good, but they were about as dense as a brick, and only vaguely bagelly.  <sigh>  Wesley liked them, but he doesn’t have any frame of reference, since he’s never had regular bagels.  Well, he hasn’t had any since he was about 11 months old, before I knew he had celiac disease…

Anyways.  In short, Enjoy Life has great customer service.  I just wish their products were more reliable.  

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on April 5, 2007, in Celiac Disease, Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

