…So, what are you reading right now?

 I got tagged by Kiva to share what I’m reading.  I think everyone will be profoundly unimpressed with my current reading selections.  Also, it seems like everyone except for me can read like 10 books at once.  I tend to read one, from start to finish.  Except nonfiction books, which I tend to start, get really excited about, then not finish.  So, technically, I’m “reading” three or more nonfiction books right now, too, but I won’t list them, because you’d probably search my blog and be shocked to find that, yes, I’m still reading that book. 

Since I’m actually only working on one book right now, I’ll list what I just finished, and what I’ll be reading next, too, since one book isn’t really a “list.”

1.  I just finished R is for Ricochet by Sue Grafton:
R is for Ricochet
The reason I read this book was kind of a… sociological study on myself.  I first discovered this series when I was in late high school, and thought that it was clever, fun and unique.  I stopped reading around “F”, I think.  When I saw this store-bought hardback at a library sale for $1, I thought I’d check back in to see what Kinsey Milhone, the heroine of the series, was up to.  Hm.  Well, I found out that either my taste has changed, or I have grown a little, but Kinsey has not.  Or something.  I didn’t find it very compelling, and did find myself a tad embarrassed to be reading it.  Plus, it was chock-full of the f-bomb, which I can sometimes tolerate (see below), but when it’s combined with a mediocre story, it gets annoying.  But, while I seem to be able to put down nonfiction with ease, I rarely don’t finish a fiction book, once started… so I finished it with record speed, eager to get on to something more satisfying, which my current book certainly is.

The moral of the story is:  Don’t leave your $27 hardcover at the library, or it will surely be purchased for $1 by someone who will then bash it in her blog.

2.  I am currently reading Notes from a Small Island by Bill Bryson:
 Notes from a Small Island
Although littered with profanity, this book is definitely worth reading.  It’s funny, poignant, well-written, and thought-provoking, and I find myself agreeing with almost everything the author says, which, of course, ups my estimation of both the book, and of Bryson as a person.  The book chronicles the 7ish week travels of the American-born author who, after living in England for 20 years, decides to take one last trip ’round the island before he moves his family to the States.  His adventure is mostly taken by foot and public transport, and I find myself sincerely wishing that I was tramping right along behind him.  It’s also an interesting read because he’s almost exactly half-British and half-American in his language and perspectives, which makes for an insightful mix.

3.  Next, I will read Unnatural Death by Dorothy L. Sayers:
Unnatural Death (Lord Peter Wimsey Mysteries)
…continuing my unsated appetite for Dorothy L. Sayers mysteries.  It’ll be the fourth book I’ve read of hers this year.  I started with a book of short stories, then started working my way chronologically through her Lord Peter Wimsey series.  This book, originally published in 1927, is the third in that series.  Sometimes, I find that reading fiction leaves me with a, “Well, that was a waste of time,” sensation (see above) as the book comes to an end.  I never feel like that with Sayers’ works.  She was a brainy, dry-witted woman, and a read of hers is always worthwhile.

I think I will tag (un)relaxed dad, a Briton whose thoughtful and honest blog I always find interesting, and Erin, who is a funnier, smarter version of myself.
 

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on April 26, 2007, in Books I'm Reading. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Karen,

    Thanks for participating…I saw a Dorothy Sayers book in the library but after so much CSI, Criminal Mind and the like I didn’t know how I would deal with some of the older mysteries. Hmmm

  2. Kiva… I totally understand why you might think that, and indeed, some of the stories are a wee bit outdated. But, really, not so much as you’d think. Humor and humanity transcend innovation. KWIM? It’s kind of like Jane Austen is still worth reading, even though everyone rides a horse or carriage in her books, and now we drive cars. 🙂 Pick up this book: http://www.amazon.com/Dorothy-L-Sayers-Complete-Stories/dp/0060084618/ref=sr_1_1/002-3455070-3429645?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1177628176&sr=8-1 if your library has it. Since it’s comprised short stories, you’ll probably be able to see pretty quickly whether or not you’d enjoy the full books.

  3. Hey! Flattery – I can’t get enough of it 🙂 I actually loved the Bill Bryson book as well – really must read his book on travels round a slightly bigger island…
    That solves my “What am I going to write about?” problem for today.

  4. I am going to look for the Bill Bryson book in the library. He’s one writer who’s been on my to-read list forever and I’ve never got around to reading him.

    I’m reading a biography of Rumer Godden at the moment… s l o w l y… (but it’s excellent!)

  5. Bill Bryson is one of my favorite writers. Love the droll wit.

  1. Pingback: What am I Reading « Careful Thought II

  2. Pingback: ...So what are you reading right now? « Relaxed Parents

Leave a Reply

