If you don’t love this photography, something is wrong with you.

Well, not really.  There’s no accounting for taste, I suppose.  But, I love these textural, sumptuous, history-filled, poignant (hey!  two posts in a row with “poignant”) photos of John Annesley.  Plus almost all of his work is shot in Arizona.  And he lives in Bisbee, which is a truly wonderful old copper mining town turned artists’ enclave in southeastern Arizona.  And I e-mailed him to make sure I could post his copyrighted photos on my blog and he responded positively within an hour or so.  (Inaccessible and unfriendly artists do not help their own cause, IMO.)

Most of these pics you can buy from the artist, which he makes to-order, matted, for $55-95, which seems reasonable to me.  My computer screen does not do them justice, unfortunately, and likely, yours won’t either.  I saw Annesley’s work in my Highroads magazine, put out by AAA.  For a self-promoting publication, Highroads does an unusually fine job, most issues (at the date of this post, though, the website has not caught up with the print publication, and still has the Mar/Apr ’07 issue up).

He photographs other stuff, too, but my favorite is what he calls Vehiculart.

~sigh~  Anyone have a spare $55?

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on April 27, 2007, in Arizona, Art, Interesting Websites, Life in the Desert. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

