Just because I agree with you doesn’t mean I think you would be a good president

Prompted, again, from Kiva’s blog, I had the thought that, just because I agree with a presidential candidate doesn’t mean I think s/he would make a good president.

I mean, I agree with myself 100% of the time.  But, do I think I would make a good president?  Hardly.

I took a quiz meant to match me up with the candidate most closely aligned with my own leanings.  My top match?  Tom Tancredo.  Who???  8) I’m sure, since Mr. Tancredo agrees with me 80-something% of the time that this makes him lively, smart, and attractive.  😀  However, that doesn’t mean I’d vote for him. 

Right now, I’m leaning towards John McCain.  I don’t like the fact that he’s 70.  Or 71?  And his choice of running mate may seriously sway my preferences.  (Though I could say that about virtually any candidate.)  I don’t even agree w/ McCain 100% of the time — he came in 3rd on my quiz rankings, but I didn’t really need a quiz to tell me that. 

BUT, I think

  • McCain is as trustworthy a politician that Washington has seen in a long time.
  • He has the both the diplomacy and charisma that is profoundly helpful, I think, in being a leader in world politics. 
  • Closer to home, it is his intention, I believe, to have smart politics, not just the party platform grandstanding that has been so divisive to the American political scene for at least the last 15 years.
  • He’s a Christian.
  • He’s from Arizona, so I’m very familiar with him.
  • He was a war hero in Vietnam, showing both a physical strength and internal resolve greater than, oh, 99.95% of the world’s population.
  • And, I agree with him most of the time, which is good enough for me.

Just to note, Mitt Romney came in 2nd on my quiz, but for better or worse, I find myself 95% distrustful of anyone who practices the inherently secretive Mormon religion.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on April 27, 2007, in Arizona, Christianity, God/Christianity/Church, Interesting Websites, Political Thought. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. i think i may be leaning toward him as well. but so much can change. AND i totally agree wiht you on the not sure you would vote for just cause you agree. in addition, I think winnability effect me.

  2. The question of running mates will determine a lot on both sides of the aisle considering that all of the current choices are not as *wow* as many would hope it only begs to question where would the running mates come from…

    As for Romney, my own views have evolved on many issues in life but I wonder if his views evolved as a means to an end. His current views (removing the Mormonism thing) would make him appealing to many.

  3. “I don’t like the fact that he’s 70. Or 71? ”

    Really? I would have guessed 172.

  4. I thought McCain was pro-choice? Or was that just a rumor started by the Bush campaign? I’m not a big fan of Romney because he seems to change his stance on issues when it will benefit his political career. At least that’s how it seems on the abortion issue. It’s just too early for me to look too deeply at anyone yet.

    Here’s the link you asked me for: http://www.sturge-weber.com/newly%20diagnosed.htm

    Sorry to hear about CFA. I don’t have one with a peanut allergy yet, but give me time. 😉

    Amnio: yes, preparedness. If it turns out that he does have SWS and we could have known that from an amnio I’ll be kicking myself forever for not having one this time.

  5. According to his website, he’s TOTALLY pro-life, though I can see why there might be some confusion, because he believes that Roe v. Wade should be overturned on a federal level, letting each state make its own decision, and that it is important to address the issue of abortion at its core, rather than just outlaw it (though he agrees w/ outlawing it). http://johnmccain.com/Informing/Issues/95b18512-d5b6-456e-90a2-12028d71df58.htm

    He is very much PRO-states’ rights, and there are issues that have been decided at the federal level that he believes should be left to the states.

  6. [quote]
    “It does not have to be that way. One bill before us today, S. 5, is similar to H.R. 810, a bill that I supported and that passed the Senate on July 18, 2006. S. 5 will provide the same strict ethical guidelines for stem cell research that the Senate supported last year. This bill would authorize federal support for embryonic stem cell research, but limits appropriately that support to scientists who use embryos originally created for reproductive purposes, and now frozen or slated for destruction by in vitro fertilization clinics. Before there is even consideration of whether to donate unused embryos for research, the legislation would require that the patient who is the source of the embryos be consulted and a determination be made that these embryos would otherwise be discarded, and would never have been implanted in the patient or another woman.

    [/quote]
    http://mccain.senate.gov/press_office/view_article.cfm?ID=932

    Bummer. This reasoning does not work for me. Not a pragmatist no way, no how. Not to be disagreeable. Slipping out….

Leave a Reply

