A-to-Zed Meme

I had plans to steal this meme (which must have been created by a zed-speaking Brit)  from Steve before I even saw that he tagged me.

A. Available or Single?
Happily wedded.

B- Best Friend.
Shellie.  She’s that kind of friend that you hope to find one day, but rarely do.

C- Cake or Pie.
Either, as long as it’s gluten-free!

D- Drink of Choice.
Venti almond cappucino, extra hot. (Or a really good pinot noir.  Or a hot tea.  Or a coffee with cream and sugar in the raw.  I really like my drinks.)

E- Essential Item.
Hm.  I could do without a lot.  Something to write on, and something with which to write, I guess.

F- Favorite Color.
Purple

G- Gummi Bears or Worms.
Either!

H- Hometown.
Phoenix, AZ

I- Indulgence.
Ben & Jerry’s Karamel Sutra.

J- January or February.
February.

K- Kids.
Four — Ethan is almost 10, Grant is 7.5, Wesley is 5.5, and Audrey is 12 months.

L- Life is incomplete without…
Christ.

M- Marriage Date.
November 12, 1994

N- Number of Siblings?
Three.  One older brother, a younger sister, and a younger brother.

O- Oranges or Apples?
Apples, if they’re Fuji.

P- Phobias/Fears.
Living forever, and other things that my mortal mind can’t possibly comprehend.  Although this fear used to be debilitating, like from age 4yr and onward, by the grace of Christ, and learning to trust His kind intentions, this is greatly decreasing.  (Five years ago, I wouldn’t even have been able to vocalize it w/o panicking.)

Q- Favorite Quote.
From The Reading Mother by Strickland Gillilan: 

You may have tangible wealth untold;
Caskets of jewels and coffers of gold.
Richer than I you can never be –
I had a Mother who read to me.

This bit helps me appreciate my mother even more, and lends its influence to my own motherhood on a near-daily basis.  I thought of this just last night, as my 5yo brought Harry the Dirty Dog nudging me out of my happy viewing of the Suns tromping the Lakers.

R- Reasons to smile.
That I’m able to live the kind of life that I really want to live.

S- Season(ing).
Early spring in the desert.  (Cumin)

T- Tag Three.
Jill, Kiva, Iain.

U- Unknown Fact About Me.
I have the world’s ugliest legs.

V- Vegetarian or Oppressor of Animals.
Proud oppressor of animals.  If we weren’t meant to eat animals, why are they made of meat?

W- Worst Habit.
Chewing my fingernails.

X- X-rays or Ultrasounds.
Whichever is most appropriate.

Y- Your Favorite Foods.
I had a grilled burger the other night, with a homemade gluten-free bun, lots of mayo, mustard, ketchup, lettuce, tomato, and a few slices of orange bell pepper.  I was almost quivering with anticipation.  I like a lot of different kind of foods;  one of my greatest disappointments of being gluten-free is that I have to be sssssooooooooo careful and particular about the foods I eat and the restaurants I visit.

Z- Zodiac.
I don’t need no steenkin’ pagan rituals….

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on May 3, 2007, in Memes. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Ugliest legs? You should see my feet….

    For a Scotsman, I wasn’t well endowed with kilt-wearing limbs.

  2. Z- Zodiac.
    I don’t need no steenkin’ pagan rituals….

    ….YAY!!! I hate it when Christians fill that bit in on blogs. Sorry, folks. Blech.

    ANd you said something to write ON!!!!! YAY!!! instead of on which to write. ANd you named me again;O)

  3. Iain ~ See? Yet another reason for me to move to Scotland. It’s the men who wear the kilts, and have to worry about making others wince. 😀

    Shellie ~ Yeah, I hung a participle. But I did say, “with which to write.” Half correct. And, of course I named you. You’re famous!! Did I ever tell you that I get hits on my blog from people searching for “rubber chicken girl”? Or is that you doing that?

  4. Oops! Just noticed I was tagged. I have been SWAMPED lately and haven’t even checked my blog, or anyone else’s. I think I operate mostly like an accordian!

Leave a Reply

