Chopped Napa Salad with Fresh Ginger-Soy Viniagrette

I made this up, as we were out of lettuce for a “regular” salad, and the only dinner veggies I had on hand were cauliflower and beets, and I didn’t feel like either of those.  So, I figured I’d make a veggie-rich salad and have that do double-duty as our dinner salad and veggie.  😛  Everyone liked it — all three boys and my husband.  I figured that made it worth posting.

All measurements are approximate, as I didn’t actually measure anything… but it’ll be close.

Napa cabbage is a pale green, elongated, crinkly-leaved, mild-tasting cabbage.  (pic thanks to www.melissas.com)

Chopped Napa Salad with Fresh Ginger-Soy Viniagrette

Dressing: 
2 tsp. olive oil
1 Tbsp. rice vinegar (or white/distilled vinegar)
2 tsp. soy sauce
2 Tbsp. brown sugar
1 clove of garlic, minced
1/2 tsp. fresh grated ginger root

Salad:
1/2 head Napa cabbage, shredded
1 small red bell pepper, chopped in 1/4″ – 1/2″ pieces
1 small yellow bell pepper, chopped in 1/4″ – 1/2″ pieces
1 small-medium English cucumber, diced in 1/4″ – 1/2″ cubes*
2 Tbsp chopped green onion tops

In a small bowl, mix salad dressing ingredients.  Microwave on high for 30 seconds, and stir until brown sugar dissolves.  Add an ice cube and stir until the dressing cools.  Pour dressing over salad, mixing to coat. 

*I like English cucumbers (a.k.a. hothouse cucumbers), as they make better leftovers.  You know how cucumbers in day-old salad get wilty/slimy?  English cucumbers don’t do that.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on May 7, 2007, in Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hey,

    I made this but added cayenne and a dash of salt ….increased the oil to 2 T and upped the vinegar a bit, too. I even went so far as to use green and purple (red?)cabbage. It was all I had. I imagine it would be terrific with all the veggies you put in it! Keep cooking!!!

Leave a Reply

