Some much-needed encouragement

In response to an e-mail about Wesley’s most current potential problem, I got a lovely e-mail from Nancy, my pastor’s wife.  It made me cry.  Nancy can be quite direct, and some don’t like that…. but I do.  I find that she’s right on when I need straightening out.  And when I need encouragement, she’s direct with that, too.  I so needed to hear this.

Something I would like you to consider: I have observed that the <my last name> children are quite exceptional.  What I think is that because they have special issues that have to be dealt with and they have a special Mom to teach them and she is smart enought to figure out what the problem is and there Daddy is a WOW of a man and adores his children: that Jesus in His wisdom has allowed special issues that then train up special children.  They have to learn to work around things.  Some are learning and some are discipline of the flesh and some are relational.  My point is: they are my favorites and I know you deal with so much but darling friend of mine, God has a plan and they are not issue children they are overcomers and giants in the making.
I love you.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on May 8, 2007, in Encouragement, Friendships, God/Christianity/Church, Vineyard Phoenix. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I would expect no less of your kids. You guys are a real blessing.

  2. Your Pastor’s wife sounds like a wise Proverbs 31 and Titus 2 woman…you know that I can relate about the “not 1 more thing” but God gives us what we need to deal with that not 1 more thing. Remember – be blessed and be a ……

  3. “Be blessed and be a blessing,” Steve, you smarty-pants. Southerngirl is referring to an off-blog conversation we had, when she closed out her e-mail w/ that saying, which my mom used to *always* send us kids off with.

  4. I read your post on your boy. You are a great mother. You are obviously so attentive to your children and you P’s wife is obviously right on when she says God gave these children to the right parents (just by what I can see on your blog). Your children are blessed.

Leave a Reply

