Eight (more) Random Things

Well…  I’ve been tagged.  Normally, I love this — it’s fun to be asked to share my thoughts.  But, since this one is on Eight Random Things About Me, and I already have 101 of them posted, I feel like it’s overkill.  Too Much Karen or something like that.

But, since you’ve twisted my arm 😉 , I’ll comply.

1.  I had braces from 8th grade through 10th grade.  My oldest son’s unfortunate mouth looks much like mine did, with too-big teeth in a too-small mouth.  My wisdom teeth, which I finally had extracted in February of this year, pushed my teeth out of place again, and I’ve been wondering if I should pursue getting braces again.  Seeing pics of myself reminds me of how much my teeth are out of alignment.  Ack.

2.  I will be 34 next month, which I think places me in the “mid-30s” range.  My hubby thinks I still qualify for “early 30s”.  😀

3.  I could easily be a hermit.  However, I believe that God didn’t call me for hermitage, so much of my whole adulthood has been focused on becoming willingly entrenched in the Body of Christ, and amongst humanity in general.

4.  I’m much nicer than I used to be.

5.  I think one of the greatest personal benefits of Christianity is that one is not stuck being who one is.  That gives me hope for myself, hope for my hubby, hope for my kids…  I am not despondent about the future of any Christian.

6.  I have waivered somewhat between being an Old Earth Creationist and a Young Earth Creationist, but my recent trip to the Grand Canyon has, I think, more firmly cemented the ideas of YECism in my mind.  I’ll post more on this later (I think), but a phenomenal book on the subject is:  The Grand Canyon:  A Different View.  I’d heard about it before our trip, and purchased it in the GC bookshop after a Ranger talk on geology.  We’re reading through it now, as part of school.

7.  I weigh 154.5 lbs.  Oddly, this is exactly where my weight has settled post-pregnancy, for the last 9ish years, unless I’m really doing something about it — like travelling and eating too much, or conversely, in the middle of an exercise regimen. 

8.  I really need a haircut.  I can’t believe it has been, again, about a year since I got my hair cut.  <sigh>  My friend Erin’s phenomenal haircut is inspiring me. 

TAGGED:  Anyone who wants to respond.  I feel like I’ve been tagging folks too much, afraid maybe they don’t want to respond???     

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on May 23, 2007, in Memes, Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Haha! I read your blog from my blog surfer so I didn’t realize you had the random things page! Sorry about that! 🙂 Thanks for playing anyway. Those were great things!

  2. I don’t like getting my hair cut either. I can’t find a decent hairdresser. I’m going to have a friend cut it soon, though, ‘cuz I’m nearly at that 2mo point when it all falls out and who wants clogged drains? I figure with her, at least I’ll only spend like 10bucks instead of 50 for a bad haircut. 😉

  3. Hi,

    I’m glad you are enjoying my book, Grand Canyon, a Different View. I pray it will provide you with the information you need to eliminate any doubt about the age of the earth.

    Tom Vail

    PS: You might consider making the link to our website (www.CanyonMinistries.com) which has more information on the subject and where the book is available as well.

Leave a Reply

