GFCF Currant Spice Muffins

Since my 5yo Wesley is gluten-free (and has been for 4.5 years) and cow-dairy-free, and my 13 month old Audrey can’t tolerate any dairy (even goat, which Wes seems to be fine with), I have started making more and more gluten-free casein-free baked goods.  This morning was my first attempt in making totally dairy-free muffins, and they turned out great.  I included rice protein, which I found a few days ago at Whole Foods;  you could probably leave it out.  You could also probably substitute rice milk or soy milk ILO the rice milk powder and water.  With about 5g protein in each muffin, these wouldn’t qualify as “high protein,” but for my family, it’s enough protein to make a main breakfast dish, not just a snack.

GFCF Currant Spice Muffins

2 eggs
1/3 cup cooking oil (I used canola)
1/2 cup water
1 heaping Tbsp rice milk powder
1/2 cup packed dark brown sugar
1/4 tsp ground cloves
1/2 tsp ground mace (nutmeg would do fine)
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup + 1 Tbsp Kinnikinnick Kinni-Kwik Bread and Bun Mix
3 Tbsp rice protein powder, measured into the bottom of a 1-cup measure, topped with
Brown rice flour to fill up to 1 cup
1/2 cup dried currants 

Preheat oven to 375*.  Line 12 muffin tins with paper baking cups.

Whisk together eggs, oil, water, rice milk powder, brown sugar, all spices and vanilla until smooth.  Add Bread & Bun Mix, whisk until smooth.  Add rice protein and brown rice flour and mix with a rubber spatula until smooth.  Stir in currants.  Spoon into muffin cups, each about 3/4 full.  Bake until tops are medium-brown and spring back to touch.  (Sorry!!  I didn’t check the time I baked these… I think it was likely 22-25 minutes.  It’s MUCH better to over-bake g.f. items than to under-bake them, so bake a few minutes longer if you’re unsure.)

Makes a dozen moist, light, tasty muffins that separate well from the baking cup paper, even when hot.  Spread with your favorite c.f. margarine, or eat plain!  

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on May 23, 2007, in Celiac Disease, Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Dear Karen,
    Thank you for all your time, energy and effort to create recipies! I have been a savory and sweet baker for many years; including breads. (Challah rolls are my families favorite) Can I substitute your Best gluten-free flour mix, cup for cup, in bread, muffin, and cookie recipies?? Why do some of your recipies not use the flour mix?? In particular the chocolate chip cookie and some of the muffin recipies?
    Today I’m going to try making Challah with your flour mix. I’ll let you know how it works out.
    Thank you.

  1. Pingback: ALL THE RECIPES!! « Only Sometimes Clever

  2. Pingback: Kinnikinnick Baking Mixes: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free - Go Dairy Free

Leave a Reply

