At the bird feeder…

My dear hubby, who knows I love birds, got me a new bird feeder on Memorial Day.  Actually two of them — one for seeds, and one hummingbird feeder.  The hummers haven’t discovered theirs yet, but the birds have discovered the hanging seed feeder.  Semi-unfortunately, it appears that some bird or birds have decided that they will throw out all the seed that is not what they want, leaving mostly the red milo all over the ground below the feeder.  While messy, this actually attracts a whole new crowd of birds.  I’ve noticed this before, with my other feeder, which I’ve had for years.  It’s a lovely cast iron, freestanding feeder, shaped sort of like round gazebo impaled on a pole.  Some birds perch on the side rails, and others hop right into the midst of the seeds and get to work.  Other birds hop around the ground, eating the seed that has fallen. 

I get sort of bummed out that the same ol’ birds will come ’round, no one new and exciting.  However, I was reminded of a birding conversation that I participated in, on the Sonlight forums, that pretty much everyone feels like that about their particular location, yet what is common to me is exotic to someone else, say, on the East Coast, and I should be thankful for the birds I do have regularly.

So, my daily visitors right now have been:

House finch (Carpodacus mexicanus)
House sparrow (Passer domesticus)
Brown-headed cowbird (Molothrus ater)
Curve-billed thrasher (Toxostoma curvirostre)
White-winged dove (Zenaida asiatica)
Mourning dove (Zenaida macroura)

All common to the US except the thrasher and the white-winged dove.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on May 30, 2007, in Arizona, birding, Loving Nature!, The Dear Hubby. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I haven’t had a bird feeder in a long time. We’ve talked about getting one though. Last time I had one it was hanging over part of my garden and all those seeds got knocked down into the garden and made a mess of stuff growing! UGH! This time I’m going to hang it over the yard so it gets cut up nice and neat when we mow. 🙂

    It is fun to watch all the different kinds of birds isn’t it! I was a beautiful cardinal the other day and tried to get my camera to take a picture but it flew away right as I got back to take the picture. 😦

    Happy bird watching!

  2. We’ve got an oriole enjoying the saguaro blossoms outside our apartment right now, as well as a woodpecker of some kind….

  3. MLBAH ~ Yeah, that’s the one bad thing about feeders — unwanted stuff sprouting up. Birds are often so hard to photograph! Keep trying!

    Erin ~ There are a few orioles who might be found in our area, but I’ve never seen one!! What does he look like? And, your woodpecker is likely a Gila woodpecker. That’s the most common one around here, anyways. http://www.geocities.com/tgrey41/Pages/GilaWoodpeckerp.html

  4. I couldn’t agree more that we should appreciate the birds that do visit us. I’m a Londoner and your list is impressive. Twenty years ago, house sparrows were commonplace in the UK, but now you don’t see them in London.

    My visitors are pigeon, blackbird, starling, robin and wren…and when I’m really lucky, the nightingale sings sweetly in the wee small hours.

Leave a Reply

