My first carnival inclusion!

Well, it’s also my first blog carnival submission, but my post on Old Earth Creationism vs Young Earth Creationism was included in the Carnival of Homeschooling #76.  This week’s highly chipper, cutesy format is… uh… not to my particular taste, but it takes all kinds, even for homeschoolers.

Of particular interest to me were the posts on alternatives to Wikipedia, and a post about a homeschooling family whose teenage boys have taken to carrying their rifles with them 24/7

This particular fairly-well-organized, long-running carnival was started by Henry Cate at Why Homeschool.  I have stumbled upon it before, within the homeschooling community, but my submission was prompted by an e-mail from Mr. Cate, who apparently regularly trolls the blogosphere for homeschoolers… 

   

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on June 13, 2007, in Homeschooling, Interesting Websites, Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Good for you!!! I could never fully understand the whole carnival thing but I am happy and I did like your YEC vs. OEC post.

  2. Mr. Cate also got on my case about submitting a carnival article. He’s a good taskmaster!

    Thanks for the link to my article about the teens with guns. You’re right, it definitely takes all kinds.

  3. “I have stumbled upon it before, within the homeschooling community, but my submission was prompted by an e-mail from Mr. Cate, who apparently regularly trolls the blogosphere for homeschoolers…”

    I use Google Alerts:

    http://whyhomeschool.blogspot.com/2006/11/google-alerts-are-better-than-even.html

    To keep an eye out for bloggers I haven’t read before. I try to invite new bloggers each week. I think this helps to keep the carnival fresh.

Leave a Reply

