Rice Milk Recipe #2 (gluten-free, casein-free)

(My first recipe is here.)

ETA:  06/18/07 — We’ve all decided that this recipe isn’t as tasty as the first one.  It’s a little too thick, and even though it technically has the same amount of sugar carbs, the flavor isn’t as nuanced as the 100% honey-sweetened first recipe.  I’m leaving this recipe up, because if there’s any recipe-tinkerers around, like I am, you will get an idea of what doesn’t work as well.  Next, I’ll try a version leaving in the lecithin, but sweetening it with only honey, and going back to part-guar gum and part-xanthan gum, but decrease the amounts.  I’ll post with how it turns out. 

As I stated in the previous recipe for rice milk (rice beverage, rice drink, non-dairy beverage, whatever), I found myself spending *way* too much money and travelling way too far for barely-nutritious pre-packaged rice milk.  My 5yo has long drunk rice milk, but now that both he and my 1yo need to be completely dairy-free, and since I’d prefer not to drink dairy milk, either, this means that half our family is now on rice milk, and all my baking & cooking is done with it, as well.

For our needs, the rice milk must be gluten-free (Rice Dream has barley gluten), dairy-free and also free of carob (a.k.a. locust bean) gum.  I also wanted it to be roughly equivalent to cow/dairy milk in its nutritive values, especially protein, but also carbs and fat.

This second recipe, I tried using half xylitol as a sweetener, and experimented with different thickeners.  Note:  This version, unlike the first, is NOT soy-free;  each serving contains about 1.9 g soy lecithin, which is mostly soy oil.  Lecithin is a great emulsifier (helps stuff stay mixed, especially oils and liquids) and contains other nutrients, such as choline and inositol.  Lecithin can be derived from other plants (like sunflowers), but it is more than 6x the price.  Also, it’s diluted a little more than the original recipe, so that you can simply add a one-cup measure to mix a quart of drink.

According to the ingredients I’ve used, the cost is equivalent to $1.20 per quart.  I’ve purchased some of the ingredients, such as vanilla and honey, in bulk, so if you’re squeezing your honey from the little grocery store-bought bear, your costs will likely be quite a bit higher.  Alternately, if you sweeten with sugar, your costs will be a lot lower.

This recipe produces enough mix for 11 quarts of rice milk.  Each quart contains four 8 oz servings, for a total of 44 servings.  Each serving contains 14 g carbs, 3.4 g fat, and 5.1 g protein

Rice Milk #2

2 Tbsp vanilla
1 c. brown rice flour
6 3/4 c. water (distilled is best)
1 c. honey
1 c. xylitol
1 rounded c. brown rice protein (found at Whole Foods, or various online retailers)
2 tsp. xanthan gum
1/3 cup canola, safflower or sunflower oil
1/3 cup liquid lecithin
(I also ground up four dairy-free tabs of acidophilus with a mortar & pestle, and added that, too)

Combine vanilla, brown rice flour and water in a large sauce pan.  Bring to boil over medium-high heat, stirring frequently with a whisk.  Boil several minutes, stirring constantly, until the mixture is thick and no longer gritty.  Cool to room temperature (I submersed the pan in a bigger pan of ice water to speed the process).  With rubber spatula, transfer the brown rice mixture to a large mixing bowl.  Add remaining ingredients, and stir with rubber spatula until dry ingredients are moistened.  Then, with an electric mixer, beat on high until ingredients are thoroughly combined. 

Makes 11 cups mix.  To serve, mix 1/4 cup concentrate with 3/4 cup water, and stir or shake well.  Or, measure 1 cup concentrate into the bottom of a quart jar, adding water to fill jar.  Shake well to mix.

Store the concentrated mix (and diluted rice milk) in the fridge in an airtight container.

Diluted rice milk stays pretty well emulsified;  there’s not a whole lot of settling.  However, give your rice milk a shake or stir before serving.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on June 14, 2007, in Celiac Disease, Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, GF Recipes, GFCF Recipes, Medical Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Rubber Chicken Girl

    Did you sit around calculating calories and grams in detail!?!?!?! You are hired. I am sooooo not doing that for the book.

  2. Yes…. me with the packages of ingredients, and a handwritten list of what I used, and a calculator, figuring out how many grams of each thing is in each serving… It’s my geeky side coming out.

  3. How do you recommend storing the milk for maximum shelf life? What is the shelf life for this? Do you ever freeze this? Thanks!

  4. Hi, Alicia ~

    First, *please* use this recipe: https://onlysometimesclever.wordpress.com/2007/06/08/healthy-creamy-yummy-rice-milk-recipe/ It’s much better.

    I just store it in an airtight plastic container in the refrigerator. I’m sure a glass one would work, too. I wouldn’t store in a metal container.

    I don’t know about the shelf life for certain, but it’s pretty long. I myself use up the batch in a week, and it keeps perfectly. Since the recipe uses honey, and honey is a natural antibiotic, it would seem that that would prolong the shelf life. My toddler drinks this, and I can tell you that we’ve found bottles under the seat of the truck that have been there for a day or more, and they don’t stink — they don’t go rancid. I’m sure it would go bad eventually, but it appears that you could store this recipe in the fridge for at least two weeks.

    About freezing: That’s a good question! I’ve never tried it. How ’bout this: I’ll freeze some right now, and get back with you later on how it turned out. 🙂

  5. Try sweetening with honey and stevia. You’ll still have the honey flavor, but you won’t need as much. Its amazing how little stevia it takes to make a huge difference.

  6. Thanks for these recipes. I tried several versions of one from a book…my daughter won’t drink it. And I don’t like it.

    I’ll be trying this next.
    http://hollytriedit.blogspot.com

  7. Thank you so much for posting this recipe & all the comments! My family & I are brand spankin’ new to Rice Milk! Our Holistic doctor gave us a quart of Westsoy rice milk & at first I thought “how will I tell my four children that they can’t have cow’s milk anymore? Its all the school offers!” But to my pleasant sursprise, they have all adjusted extremely well & my doctor wrote a letter to the school to substitute milk with 100% juice due to milk allergies! After only a week I can tell that my kids aren’t sneezing & their noses aren’t running anymore!This site is a great find! Thanks to ONLYSOMETIMESCLEVER for taking the time to share the recipes with us! How kind of you! God bless you & your family!

  8. Proud momof4 ~ I’m so glad that you’ve figured out that dairy is causing allergic reactions in your kids! I like my other rice milk recipe better… click on the link at the top of the post.

  9. Thank you so much for this recipe!!!God bless you and your family!

  10. hi my babyboy was found to be allergic to cows/goats/soy/nuts milk protein so I had to drastically change my eating habits to complete dairy-soy-oats free , he is also allergic to oats …he is almost 1yo now (10 months adjusted age) I feel his formula is not doing his body much and since he is older now…My question is, have you given this milk to your babies younger than 1y0? Thanks,desperate mom

    • Hi! I’m sorry you’re feeling desperate! My youngest is in a very similar situation — we’re both on a total elimination diet eating only the very few foods she can eat, and she’s still breastfeeding @ 13 months. Her only other liquid is water.

      First off, I would try this recipe instead (it’s my first rice milk recipe… it just works better).

      The only time I used this milk with my other daughter when she was younger than 12 months was when I was still breastfeeding, and I would use it along WITH breastmilk — like give the rice milk a couple of times a day and nurse 3-4x/day. So, I’m not really sure what to recommend as you’re on formula. Also, I think it would depend on how many other solids your baby is eating. If he is eating a wide range of veggies, fruits, proteins, and complex carbs, then I think you might be all right giving him rice milk. However, I would NOT plan on using it as my baby’s primary source of nutrients. AND, you’ll still need to supplement calcium, as I have not found any calcium that works well added to the recipe. Lifetime liquid calcium works well for little ones. And, you may want to supplement vitamins, too. Schiff makes a good liquid vitamin that is allergen-free.

      Are you in the care of a pediatrician? If you tell him/her, “My son is eating a wide variety of foods well, I’m going to supplement with vitamins and calcium, what do you think about me starting this rice milk?” you may find him willing to support you in that choice. Come to the doctor’s office WITH the recipe, so s/he can see that it has protein and is not sweetened with sugar.

      Hope that helps!

  11. Thank you so much for the much needed kind advise. I have 3 different specialty doctors attending to my baby’s needs. However he is taking an amino acid based formula milk (to deter eczema reactions) that i feel is against everything natural that i believe in. Am still breast feeding him and i won’t give it up, but my milk is not producing enough for him… I don’t believe the formula packed with “unknown chemical” ingredients is the answer besides its giving him constipation..so i was desperately searching for a natural alternative milk . it was heaven sent to find your recipe, thank you and bless you for sharing!!! and that you have also given it to your kids who are just as allergic as mine 😦 we are both in the same elimination diet. He has a very good appetite and it is just so pitiful to see there is not much I can offer to give him. .:( I have but just two concerns, the rice protein (which im praying will NOT react with him) and the gums used – are these made from corn?? -which he can’t take..is it safe to substitute with tapioca/cassava pearls or will the recipe change drastically if I simply omit it? I can not thank you enough! oh yes i did show it to my doctor and she was very open to the idea of giving it a try. Many blessings to you and yours!

  12. Milk, soy milk, almond milk, all trigger hot flashes for me, along with stiff finger joints in the morning. I think the common thread between them all is lecithin. Does the rice flour or any other of your ingredients contain lecithin? I’m dying for a bowl of cereal!!!!

    • Marsha, none of the ingredients contain lecithin as an additional ingredient. However, lecithin is a naturally-occurring substance in MANY plant/animal products. Looking into lecithin (just on Wikipedia), I notice that much lecithin is extracted by hexane. Perhaps you have a hexane sensitivity, especially if you’re exposed to it in other places as well?? (Just theorizing here, not diagnosing you!) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hexane#Toxicity

  1. Pingback: Healthy, creamy, yummy rice milk recipe « Only Sometimes Clever

Leave a Reply

