Why would I spend $50 on a concert in which I’m not all that interested??

Last week, my friend Virginia invited me to a concert.  It’s for Norah Jones.  Virginia bought the tickets in March, and is near-wildly exited about this concert.  Another friend had planned to go with VA, but she has decided to go out of town to spend time with her grandfather, who is in dire health.  This left VA out a good $50, for the ticket, plus prepaid parking, not to mention the company.

I happily agreed to go with her… but not for the music.  It’s not that I don’t like Norah Jones, I’m just not a fan, really.  She tends to be quieter than I usually prefer my music.  I always feel a little funny at concerts to which I can’t sing along, like I don’t really belong there or something.

But…

  1. I’m very happy to get to spend time with Virginia.  She’s a single mom of two, and I’m happily married with four kids, and our busy lives don’t allow us to spend a lot of time together.
  2. I’m very happy to get out with just about anyone for virtually any reason.
  3. It’s my birthday in just a couple of days, and this is a good way of celebrating.

So, it’s off to Norah we go.  We’re going to dinner first, making a whole evening of it.  My hubby has agreed to come home early from work, and to stay with our kids to let this plan happen.  🙂  (The Mom staying with all the kids is an everyday occurrence.  But The Dad staying with the kids usually requires careful advance planning. 😉 )

I’ll let y’all know how it goes.   

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on June 18, 2007, in Friendships, Music. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Have fun. I agree – getting out without the kids is great, no matter what you are doing. And it does seem to take a lot of planning to make that happen!

  2. Have fun!! And I hope you have a great birthday! 🙂

  3. Rubber Chicken Girl

    I was gonna ask precisely when the bday was….I don’t have SL for a cheat-sheet anymore. I was thinking 20th or 21st….I have a couple do-dads. I wanna make cookies so you can test my “Mrs. Fields Who?” GF cookies!! Will be late. That’s a given. ;OPPPPPPPPP You old lady with gray hair going to fuddy duddy concerts, you!!

  4. Rubber Chicken Girl

    The do-dads mean bday pressies. Do you have a limit on how long your earrings can dangle? Like are you a drop earring gal or dangly gal or a post gal??

  5. Thanks everyone (belatedly)!! Yes, my birthday is the 20th. And, yes, I have more (non-dyed) gray hair than ever. ~sigh~ And, yes, I loved ALL your presents (though Ethan has taken over the Glove Affairs book… 😛

  6. Rubber Chicken Girl

    Do you know about the 6 fingered glove?!
    http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/12518782/

    Ambidextrous pitcher stars at Creighton
    Middle reliever Venditte equally effective with both left and right arms

  7. I didn’t know about the guy at Creighton — that’s really cool. But I do know about Antonio Alfonseca, who is a MLB pitcher w/ six fingers on each hand, as well as six toes on each foot! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Antonio_Alfonseca

Leave a Reply

