Norah Jones, occupational therapy, homebodies, roller coasters, etc.

When my hubby and I first got married, I wanted to GO, GO, GO and do everything.  He frustrated me with his homebodiness.  Well, not that we sat at home all the time;  before we had kids we went to the movies all the time, frequently went to concerts, went to friends’ houses…  But his favorite thing to do — especially on Saturdays, which should have been, in my book, a hyper-productive day — was hang out at home, doing essentially nothing.  Well, nothing but be together.

I think we’ve rubbed off on each other.  Funny how that works, eh?

There are few things I dislike more than having to be busy, busy, busy all week.  Even when they’re good things, I get so worn out, and I just wanna recharge by playing catch after dinner in the back yard, or even having a chance to do the dinner dishes before, say, 11 p.m., or read my book whilst Martin and the boys have a Galaga challenge w/ our low-tech plug’n’play games.

Monday, I went to Norah Jones, which was a really good concert.  I feel out-of-sorts at sit-down concerts…  Concerts should be about dancing, IMO.  I don’t know all of Norah’s music, but I knew enough that I didn’t feel like an outsider.  That was good.  I still can’t get over her oddly passive face while she sings.  I really liked the guy who opened for her, M. Ward, who has a folksy-bluesy-raspy-lovely-quiet style.  Every time a single guy is touring with a single girl, I can’t help but wonder if anything’s going on with the two of them.  😯  Especially when Miss Jones broke out a whole load of smilie faces when M. Ward joined her on stage for a really, really good number.

Tuesday, I took Grant to occupational therapy, which doesn’t seem like a big thing, but due to traffic and distance, and the hour’s worth of OT, plus time chatting with the therapist that meant 3.5 hours absent from the house at dinner time…

Wednesday was my birthday.  I really didn’t want to go out.  I already felt too busy and tired, plus Audrey’s been sick all week, which is draining for me, both emotionally and because of the late and disrupted nights.  But, Martin insisted, the slave driver.  😉  We had a really lovely evening at P.F. Chang’s, which has the best gluten-free menu of any restaurant I know.  Since my dearest and I only go there about 3 times a year, when we do, we splurge.  I’m totally not the splurging kind;  that’s my hubby’s bad influence.  😉  We both had an appetizer, a main dish, and a glass of wine (and a lot of food to bring home).  I learned something new:  you can add *any* vegetable(s) to your dish at PF Chang’s for $1.00!  One dollar!!  I happily augmented my normally near-vegetableless Chang’s Spicy Chicken with broccoli and sugar snap peas.  After I’d asked my waiter which of the dishes had lots of veggies and he let me in on that little-known fact of veggie-adding, my jaw dropped.  He asked, “Did I just blow your mind?”  He did.  …My dearest and I sat next to each other on the bench seat of the noisy table that’s closest to the kitchen entrance and had a great time chatting, cosying, and eating leisurely.  We were there for nearly two hours!

Tonight would have been a –nothing– night, had I not left my phone at PF Chang’s, and had I remembered to pick up some tickets I needed for Ethan’s birthday celebration at Castles ‘n’ Coasters tomorrow night while I was out this morning for a doctor appointment.  Did that make sense?  The discount tickets need to be purchased in advance (from a grocery store that’s running the special), and I was going to do that today, after a doc appt, but I totally forgot.  110* heat will do that to a girl, you know.  So, I went out again, tonight, to pick up my phone and the tickets… and since I was in the grocery store, I got a few items…  So, that’s another two hours out at night instead of home with my family.

Tomorrow is the aforementioned celebration.  Ethan, who will turn 10 on Saturday, is going to spend the evening riding roller coasters with three of his buddies.  C’n’C is nothing like a Six Flags, but it’s plenty enough to keep the boys happy.  I’m going to accompany them, and M will stay home with our three younger children.  This is the first year that Grant, who is two years younger than E, will not be participating in the main “party” part of Ethan’s birthday.  He is none too happy about it.  Ethan is really good about having his younger brother tag along to most everything with him, and I decided that E was due some quality alone-time with his friends… plus I intend to let them stay out late, like 10:30 or so.  Tomorrow is supposed to be another 110*+ day, so it’s really too hot to cavort outside before evening…  I already told Ethan that bedtime is going to be midnight, though.  He only has one sleepover a year, and I want to let him make the most of it, but last year, everyone was up ’til 3:00 or so, and that was just too late.

So.  Not to complain.  It’s a good life.  I’m just tired.  (Perhaps posting a near-midnight doesn’t help, either.  😉 )    

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on June 22, 2007, in Arizona, Life in the Desert, Marriage, Music, Parenting, Random Stuff, Summer Plans, The Dear Hubby, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. “When my hubby and I first got married, I wanted to GO, GO, GO and do everything. He frustrated me with his homebodiness.”

    Sounds familiar.

  2. Happy Belated Birthday to both of you.

    Thanks soooo much for mentioning PF Chang’s again. I always forget which restaurants you mention but now I’m going to write this down. They just opened one the next city over (which is actually a long distance in Ontario but I guess it will be worth it).

Leave a Reply

