Conflicted

When I started blogging, I purposefully chose not to establish one on homeschoolblogger.com.  I mean, there’s more to my life than homeschooling, and I wanted to “meet” folks outside of Homeschool World.  That’s worked really well.  I think not having a blog hosted by that site has likely widened both what I read, and my readers.

Yet, when I blog surf on WordPress, I think, “Where are all the homeschoolers?”  Well, geez.  They’re at homeschoolblogger.  🙄

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on June 22, 2007, in Blogging, Homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Balancing one’s identities is a tricky thing. I’ve got the one blog you know of and you may have noticed that I started another one, much more work-focused and, well, careful. Different readers altogether. Why not do both?

  2. Yeah… after about a year of knowing you with one (unnamed) identity, Dudelet’s dad, it was odd to find out your real name. You actually have three blogs! I think in much too linear a fashion to be able to keep two, let alone three, blogs straight.

    Plus, with me, there’s so much overlap in all the areas of my life. I don’t think I want to separate them, even if I could.

    It’s nice to see you here, btw! I’ve thought that perhaps my ideas have been too far “out there” for you, of late, and that I’d scared you off. 😮

  3. I knew of homeschoolblogger when I started and chose not to go there for the same reason. I’ve written a lot about homeschooling but I didn’t want to be just a homeschooling blog. Plus, like you said, there is a huge variety of blogs on wordpress and it’s been fun getting to “know” all kinds of people. 🙂

  4. Blogging at wordpress is easier, and dare I say superior, than at the other place you mentioned!

    I currently have 3 blogs and if you click on my name, you’ll go to my birthing blog, but I do have a more personal/ homeschooling blog too. http://homeschoolingwithguinever.wordpress.com/

  5. DBM ~ So why aren’t you at homeschoolblogger??

Leave a Reply

