Happy Fool Singalong Songs

Steve, over at Careful Thought, tagged me for a meme to name songs to which I’ll make a happy fool of myself, singing along to.  This had me combing through stacks of CDs thinking, “Well, isn’t singing along almost a requirement??”  It’s hard for me to NOT sing along.  However, I chose eleven anthemic songs that suit my range and allow for all-out, gut-busting sessions in the truck.  (Is it the acoustics in a truck?  The privacy?  Whatever, singing in the Suburban is certainly highly satisfying.) 

Most of Steve’s were from the 70s.  Most of mine are 80s and 90s.  There’s a mix of stuff in there, from folk to punk, Christian to… highly skeptical of Christianity.  I didn’t include any true worship songs, which could be a whole ‘nother meme altogether.  (Though “Hands of Kindness” comes close.) 

I could easily have chosen 20 or 30 more, but here are the ones I picked (30-second clips linked from Amazon):

Whom to tag?  That is the question.  How ’bout Sara, Erin, and Iain (who apparently needs a swift kick to stimulate his blogging efforts, the slacker!). 

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on June 23, 2007, in Memes, Music. Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Interesting mix, and interesting meme. Thanks for tagging me – I needed something fun to do.

  2. My favorite music is not the kind that would qualify for this category – but there are some songs that are upbeat and force me to sing along:

    1. You Can Call Me Al – Paul Simon
    2. Whoever You Are – Geggy Tah
    3. I Was Made to Love Her – Stevie Wonder
    4. De Do Do Do De Da Da Da – The Police
    5. Wild Wild Life – Talking Heads
    6. Istanbul (Not Constantinople) – They Might Be Giants
    7. Heroes – David Bowie
    8. Private Dancer – Tina Turner (my secret shame!)
    9. Maxwell’s Silver Hammer – The Beatles
    10. Virtual Insanity – Jamiroquai

  3. Done! Took me ages to do all the linky bits too! See what I do for you??? Go see!

    🙂

  4. Rubber Chicken Girl

    1. Steve Miller Band–Jet Airliner, Take the Money & Run
    2. Janis Joplin–Bobby McGee
    3. Eric Clapton-I Shot the Sheriff/Tears in Heaven/Cocaine
    4. Jackson Browne-Stay/Runnin’ on Empty
    5. Bob Seger-Against the Wind
    6. Crosby Stills Nash & Young-Southern Cross
    7. Little River Band-Cool Change
    8. The Police-King of Pain
    9. The Doobies-Jesus is Just Alright
    10. Cat Stevens-Wild World
    11. Cheating here….Frampton Comes Alive…..

    I could go on….if I like it, I wanna sing it. Get your own bloomin’ links :O))

  5. Rubber Chicken Girl

    12. Steve Winwood–Higher Love

  6. Rubber Chicken Girl

    Ditto on Paul Simon….all of Graceland!

    Moreover… (five minutes after my paycheck and five more minutes since –Gordon Lightfoot–Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald ((on topic ;))…

    I also woke up with a recipe in my brain. Can recipes be gifts from God/like words of knowledge?! The recipe is for caramel apple sundaes….homemade chunky applesauce (or the canned gf wallyworld kind) with homemade caramel sauce (or jarred gf junk) over icecream. Then I picked up this Southern Living 40th Anniversary cookbook and they had Caramel Apple Quesadillas which quickly got converted to Caramel Apple Crepes–cornstarch crepes with a cream cheese filling with the chunky warm applesauce inside the crepe, browned in butterif you want and then the caramel sauce poured over all. YUMMO!!

    Morever….I found Audrey Baudrey an outfit at Wallyworld. Every now and again they do have a decent bit of clothing…..burgundy/huckleberry with a sort of paisley print on ivory with a bit of eyelet at the neck. Not so modest ;O)) It’s backless. But we’ll work on that. Claire got a backless sundress and she was a bit concerned. Good girl. At least be considering thoughtfully what you wear, eh?!

  7. Rubber Chicken Girl

    If you wanna make all that OT stuff an e-mail….go ahead and 86 it.

  8. Rubber Chicken Girl

    And…….Mike and the Mechanics, Taken In. I’ll stop!!

  9. Sara ~ Thanks for playing!!!

    John ~ Ditto on Wild, Wild Life and Istanbul.

    Shellie/RCG ~ I love everything about you except your taste in music. 😉 And you, me, right???? At least we can worship together. And eat together. And shop for shoes together. 🙂 Martin would laugh if he knew Steven Winwood was on your list. He knows that Winwood is on my list… my all-time-hate list. Hahahahahaha!!! 😆 The crepes sound fabulous. And the Audrey dress. Yipee!! You can hold it hostage until I give you your Darrell Evans DVD back, right???? Adam really likes/liked Mike & the Mechanics. 🙂

  10. Rubber Chicken Girl

    Yeah, we mutually detest each others music. I think it is all about what era you really started to dig music and what was big then. You dig NIN and REM (blech!) cuz that was what was hip in the alternative world when you were college aged–my theory. I got turned onto music via my Dad as wee mite in the 70’s. So, although I have college era music (Leslie Phillips, Chicago, Mike and the Mechanics, Sting, Amy, Russ Taff,) I really like the oldies from my childhood and my Dad’s 8 track tapes…..aaahhhh James Whatshisname Taylor, Carly Simon, Eric Clapton, the Eagles etc. Mary’s friend, Sharon, was our Blue Monday friend. She’d go on Mondays to the local club to dance to the house music and alternative stuff of the day…..Jesus MaryChain or whatever they were called, Depeche Mode, the post-Devo double time headbanger stuff I hate, like REM.

    That’s my take. If only you went to college when I did…..then you’d like Depeche Mode. Sigh.

  11. Actually, it’s funny you should mention Leslie Phillips, b/c she was an early love of mine. I think… no, I *know* my love of music developed at the home of Peggy Church, who was a babysitter of mine. She and her hubby had virtually every RECORD of Christian music, from run-of-the-mill stuff to the uncommon. So there I was, at 9 & 10 years old, trying out disc after disc after disc, for hours on end, discovering Daniel Amos & Leslie Phillips. When The Turning came out when I was 13, that was the first time that EVERYTHING clicked — the music, the arrangements, the lyrics, the vocals. It was *perfect*. (It, incidentally, has been reissued under her “Sam” name: http://www.amazon.com/Turning-Sam-Phillips/dp/B0000001B2)

    All my music loves were self-sought-out. Nothing was because it was popular at the time. *ALL* of my friends thought my music was weird. All of my girl friends, anyways. A couple of male friends when I was 14ish helped me expand my weird-music repertoire…

    But, to me… it never seemed weird. It was just right for me. It just happened to be what I liked. And what I liked just happened to be what most others considered odd, or at least uncommon.

    Some of it, like NIN or Depeche Mode, was just good to dance to, but not necessarily what I’d pop in to listen to at home.

  12. Rubber Chicken Girl

    I *knew* you’d say you got into it yourself. I am getting to know you well. All my friends are contrary!;O)

    I was talking to Darin about it and told him that the stuff you listened to (DA, 77’s, Mark Heard who I don’t think you listen to??) was the stuff all the guys were listening to. That adds up, you and your affinity for guys. All these guys came into the bookstore and bought that stuff. Like my Mom’s friend, Carolyn’s, son who was always a music-head, pop culture-head. He ended up in Vancouver BC via Nashville like a good artsy f*rtsy guy would. The chicks bought Amy, Maggie B and MWSmith and the guys bought your bands and Whiteheart and Stonehill. There was overlap, as so many of the guys had crushes on Amy. I imagine both bought Leslie aka Sam. But interestingly, I would listen to music babysitting, but the parents I sat for listened to wait for it…….Amy, MW Smith, the Imperials, Sandi Patty (blech!!–nothing personal), so I was doomed to be ultra conservative/vanilla. But I found Leslie myself. I branched out a tiny bit beyond Petra and Keith Green and Amy…..never gonna be a double time headbanger!! How on earth do you dance to that &%$*#?

  13. Rubber Chicken Girl

    Groovy on Sam cuz old OOP copies of The Turning are like $30 on ebay.

  14. Rubber Chicken Girl

    Well I could keep trying to name 10 till we score….we do have a wee bit of overlap, like Leslie ( I could just list the songs on the Turning as a cheat, Mark Knopfler (sp)and Emmylou, hmmmm, anymore? I’d probably hang with Allyson Kraus (sp). Get that Leslie Phillips or I will!

  1. Pingback: The Learning Umbrella » Music meme

  2. Pingback: Comma Dot Comma » Sing-A-Long Songs

Leave a Reply

