I am His Girl

Well.  I blogged a bit about the monthly discipleship meetings that our church is going to have for the 6-12yo girls, for which I will lead worship.  Also, I wrote a song, a theme song, of sorts, for it, all in one day.  It came to me fast.  The whole thing has been somewhat on hold, though, until I could play it for those who are heading up this event.  Last week, Audrey was sick, so I wasn’t at church, so I couldn’t play the song.  Yesterday, I finally got to play it for the “test audience” — Nancy (pastor’s wife), Brenda (friend and event curriculum writer), and Maggie (11yo electric guitarist) and Chloe (9yo).  Nancy’s response was, “I love it!  It’s perfect.”  They all liked it.  😛  Yay!!

Maggie thought she could play it, too.  She said she already knows D and A.  I showed her the C2.  We’re going to practice the song together as a team, and she’ll practice it on her own, and with her guitar teacher.

I’ve decided that it’s a lot less pressure to write music for kids…. they don’t care if a song has only three chords, as this one does (D, C2 & A).  They don’t care if it’s repetitive. 

That said, I still want it to be a good song, and to be relevant for its use.  I was anxious (a bit) about the song’s reception, not so much for ego’s sake, but because I want the song to be right.  I am so excited about the girls singing it.  I can hear it in my head, all their voices raised with heart-felt enthusiasm, singing about purity and being precious to God.

I thought I’d copy the lyrics here.  I really don’t care if anyone steals them.  It’s not like I’ve written it to be a money-maker, or anything like that. 

 I am His Girl

I am His girl
He has made me
God has made me
To show the world
Just how lovely
His creation can be

I am His girl
He has made me
God has made me
To show the world
Who my Jesus is
By the way that I live

I am His girl
He has made me
God has made me
To show the world
I’m His beauty
I’ll walk in purity

My heart stirred
When I heard
His never-failing word
Then I believed
He could save me
He came and washed me clean

I am His girl
He has shown me
God has shown me
And now I know
My heart is precious
He forgives when I confess it

I am His girl
He has shown me
God has shown me
And now I know
I’m made specially
He has a plan for me

I am His girl
He has shown me
God has shown me
And now I know
I can do all things
Through Jesus who strengthens me

I am His girl!!
 

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on June 25, 2007, in Christianity, God/Christianity/Church, Music, Vineyard Phoenix. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Great lyrics! I hope I get to hear the whole song sometime.

  2. Rubber Chicken Girl

    Lovely. What makes me glad is that God has worked enough pleasure in being female that you can write that from your heart. God bless your daughter!!

  3. You’ll have to record it and put it up here so we can hear it!! 🙂

  4. Erin ~ I’m absolutely certain that if you want to come to the Friday night meetings, you’d be joyously welcome. Then, you could hear the song.

    Shell ~ Thanks for ever being my cheerleader for all things feminine. 🙂

    MLBAH ~ I’ve tried recording other things, but I have YouTube problems. I’ll try, though.

    TT ~ Of course you’ve never heard it. I just wrote it!

Leave a Reply

