Disturbing searches

I get a disturbing number of hits on my blog from people searching for the seemingly innocuous terms:  boy river, boys in river, boy river pic, shaggy boy, shaggy hair boy, and the like.  There are also the not-so-innocent terms:  boy swim pic, pretty boy pic, 9yo boy pic and a few others.

This makes me really mad.  I pray, from time to time, for the men who are searching for these things.

I’ve also recently edited some posts, taking out any pictures that have more skin showing than would normally be covered up by shorts and a tee-shirt.  If I’ve missed any pictures and anyone sees one that might be mis-used, please do comment here, and I’ll make sure to remove the picture.

In a way, I’m glad to see those searches, because it keeps me on the alert for the protection of my children, and helps me be careful what I post here in this public blog. 

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on July 3, 2007, in Blogging, Parenting, Sad Things, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’ve seen several blog posts devoted to something similar to this topic. Little Cooks in the Kitchen recently wrote this post about it: http://littlecooksinthekitchen.com/?p=87. It was really good – as well as some of the comments. Isn’t it sad that we have to worry about things like this?

  2. I’ve seen similar searches before and have to watch what I say and the pix I post as well. It grieves me.

  3. Rubber Chicken Girl

    Those searches make me wanna wretch! Hide your babies Karen!!

  4. Now Kikzy’s getting older, I’m more hesitant about posting photos of him. I’m annoyed that weirdos out there can pervert what is totally innocent – why should they get away with it? But the fact is, they do, and I’ve made a decision that there will be a cut off age for posting photos of Kiko, probably age 2. I’m glad you posted this because it reminded me of my decision.

Leave a Reply

