Five things I dig about Jesus

I got tagged (again!  😉 ) by Mom Loves Being at Home for my thoughts on what I dig about Jesus.

  1. His mercy.  By nature, I tend to judgement, rather than mercy.  But I am so grateful that God isn’t just like me.  He’s infinitely better than all of my strengths and weaknesses.
  2. The fact that He is never confused by a situation, or stuck by a problem.  He has all the answers, and that gives me hope.  If I’m in a difficult situation, I just need to focus on Him, and listen closely to Him, and eventually, He’ll light the path He wants me to take.  As a Christian, nothing is ever hopeless.
  3. His creativity.  I absolutely love how He has painted and formed our world.  I love His love of beauty, and His careful, artful thoughtfulness, His intricacy.  He is absolutely creative — He continually creates — and this drive for creating is one of His attributes that He places a portion of in we, part of His creation.
  4. The fact that He has all truth.  Every bit of absolute truth out there — in science, in theology, in math, in every area of every discipline — was thought up by Jesus.  Every one of our new “discoveries” was known to Him, long ago.  Jesus is concerned, yes, with the development of our relationship with Him, and the state of our spirits.  But He is also the absolutely most brilliant mathematician, historian, scientist, philosopher et al, that ever was, or ever will be, and as Christians, we get to tap into that aspect of His nature.
  5. That He makes it so fulfilling to worship Him.  The Christian life is so paradoxical.  In one way, none of it is about me — it’s more about the Body of Christ (the totality of all Christians), about God Himself, about the Kingdom of Christ (His rule and reign), about God’s triumph over sin and death — all things much grander than li’l’ ol’ me could ever be…. but there is another side of Christianity that is operative at the very same time:  the intimate, tender, joyous, exciting, challenging, lovely, alive, beautiful, emotional, personally-fulfilling nature of knowing and being known by Jesus.

I’m not going to tag anyone on this.  However, I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to hear your thoughts on Jesus, either in the comments below, or on your own blog.     

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on July 3, 2007, in Art, Christian Living, Christianity, Encouragement, God/Christianity/Church, Introspective Musings, Memes. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Those are great! I love them all!!

    I often just sit in awe of His creation as well. When I look at the sky when it’s particularly beautiful, or a field full of flowers, or just the scenery as we drive through a new place. It’s amazing to look at God’s creation and see what He’s done!

    Thanks for participating. 🙂

  2. Great list. I’ve seen the “Five things I dig about Jesus…” going around the blogs. I even wrote my list. I especially like your number 2. As a Christian, nothing is ever hopeless.

    If you’d like to read my list you can check it out at:

    http://morefire.wordpress.com/2007/06/28/got-tagged/

    Blessings.

  3. I like these very much. You all homeschool? That’s great! I’m in my second year of college right now after being home educated all the way through high school.

    Hope it goes well for you all. See ya ’round the blogs.

  4. Wow, Captain Crayon. Guys like you are an encouragement to moms like me! You’re articulate and artistic! While I know that my kids are getting a good education, there’s always a bit of a fear that I’m going to miss something. It doesn’t appear like your mom did! I love to see homeschool success stories. (The Learning Umbrella on my blogroll was hs’ed through high school, as well.)

  5. Rubber Chicken Girl

    1. He’s utterly whole. In a world full of creeps, flakes, co-dependency, disorders, mania, blah blah blah (including myself in the mess), He is NONE of that. That is simply irresistable.
    2. He is utterly unpretentious. He is IT. He has all power, all knowledge, He is all in all, yet he emptied Himself and stepped into our shoes and became one of us. He humbled us and became obedient unto death. The Word says that He can identify with us. I constantly have some cirrcumstance remind me of yet another way He identifies with us. He was despised and rejected. He experienced murder. He experienced loneliness and abandonment. On and on.
    3. He is the most wonderful paradox. All Truth; all mercy. All justice; all grace. The ultimate Dr. Phil. Will kick your b*tt to the curb with truth and then dust you off and put you back on your feet.
    4. He made otters, ferrets, hummingbirds, clematis, hellabores. He keeps bugs alive when we cannot preserve them one night in a bug barn “of death”. Wow.
    5.He is a friend who sticks closer than brother. When everyone else walks away at the first hint of frailty, when they just drop you on your head, man, He’s is there. To the ends of the earth, He will finish the work He started.

  6. Shellie ~ Your list made me cry!!! I love them all!!

  7. What a great post and good insight! Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

