Written chore assignments for my kids

One of my goals for the summer is to get myself and my kids more organized, in hopes of keeping the house tidier.

A couple of weeks ago, I sat down and made a list of the chores that my boys currently do, though much of it was sporadic.  I then distributed the assignments to each of my three sons, making a written chart of a month’s chores for each boy.  Some of the tasks are daily, some are done a couple of times a week, and some only once a week.

Why didn’t I do this before?????

Holy cow.  It has been *so* effective.  Some of the items I initially had to coach each child in, but now that they’ve been doing this for more than two weeks, they’re able to independently do their tasks with very few reminders.  And, each day they get both more skilled in the task, and quicker.  And, there are things that are getting done way more frequently that needed to be done more often, like cleaning our back arcadia (sliding glass) door, which gets grimy fast, due to baby hands, boy hands, and dog noses.  

If you click on the .pdf, you’ll see that I have “Shower” on each day.  Yes, I had to write it down to keep track if everyone has taken a shower that day.  I’ve also worked on getting the boys down to 5 minute showers, instead of the 20+ minutes they’d each prefer, which previously has made it difficult for everyone to get a daily shower in, due to time constraints (not to mention the water loss).  I think next month, I won’t need to include a shower as a “chore.”

Right now, our summer morning “schedule” is pretty loose, but it usually looks like:  Get dressed, breakfast, play outside, do chores, then have free time.  (Being that the days are SO HOT — it’s supposed to be 116* tomorrow — we have to get our outdoor play done before 10:00 a.m.  Literally.  It’s up into the 90s by that point, and just too hot for outside play.)

I think we will continue the chore schedule (or a modified version of it) throughout the coming school year.      

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on July 3, 2007, in Arizona, Get Organized!, Parenting, Summer Plans, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Great idea! I use a similar thing for myself (someone’s gotta keep me in line!). If I ever work out how to pdf it I’ll upload it. It has daily and weekly jobs in an excel spreadsheet as I like to fill in the blocks with pretty colours. It helps me get things done, but more than that… I can see if I haven’t cleaned the bathroom for a 3 weeks, or haven’t cleaned the fridge for a month.
    One of these days, I’ll do something similar to yours for my children, although little jobs to suit 4 and 2 year old.

  2. Yeah, I created this on Printshop, which lets you save any file as a pdf. The bad news is that its spreadsheet-type layouts lack selection. I need at least three colors, because the boys (especially my youngest) are having a hard time finding their spots on the page.

    I’d like to see your spreadsheet, actually! My next assignment is to do one for myself, for my chores. 🙂 I’d ask you to e-mail it, but I don’t have Excel on this computer, so I can’t open Excel files.

  3. It’s generally around 90 degrees when I leave for work at 6:30 in the morning!

  4. Wow, Erin. That’s hot. Out at our house, away from the “urban island,” it doesn’t hit 90 until 8:30 or 9:00. Last couple of weeks, it’s been 100 by 10:00. Ack. Isn’t it supposed to cool down soon???? Bring on the monsoons!!!

  5. I could email it to you as a .sxc file. We use Open Office which is free software and has an excel equivalent. (I bet you can tell I’m not a computer geek.)You can download it for free. Let me know if you’re keen to try that.
    Cheers,
    E
    PS Sorry to hear about your foot.

Leave a Reply

