A new Sitemeter: Partly defense, partly curiosity

At the bottom of my RH column, you will see a new little widget, green and white, labelled “sitemeter.”  I’ve always been curious about who is visiting my blog, and where they’re from, and why they’re here.  But, it’s really wretched that some sickos that have found my blog to view pictures of my dear and innocent children, so I’ve taken steps to keep better tabs on my visitors.  That’s right, folks, I’m keeping track of you.  (You can visit the Sitemeter website and take a tour to see what I can see about all my visitors.  It’s a lot.  And, if I paid to upgrade, I could see a whole, whole, whole lot more.) 

It’s actually a little scary, how much can be found out about those who think they surf in anonynimity.  I feel better knowing that each visitor could be tracked down to a real-life location in relatively short order if that became necessary. To the best of my knowledge, though, this free service provided by Sitemeter is *not* putting cookies or spyware on your computer, nor is it tracking where  you go once you leave my blog.  But, you know, there are services available that will do such a thing.

I don’t want to discourage legitmate visitors:  friends, family members, people seeking gluten-free recipes, or info on their baby’s teeth coming in out of order, or where to take their kids on a drive or a hike.  However, I do want to do all I can to discourage those with seriously suspect intentions from visiting here, or at least re-visiting here, once they see that this website is hostile to their intentions.

There is anonymizer software out there for those who are really intent on covering their tracks.  But, for every software that comes out, “descrambler” software soon follows.  No one is really anonymous, at least for long.  For fun, you can try this website to see if a computer can easily track your IP address to your location.  (It usually places the user in the right city, but not to your actual physical address.)

I hope y’all understand.  Part of me really doesn’t want to spy, even though I’m curious.  But the larger part of me feels that, in order to keep blogging freely, I need to take steps to protect my family.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on July 5, 2007, in Blogging, Interesting Websites, Introspective Musings, Parenting, Sad Things, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I have sitemeter on my blog too. I don’t check it all the time but it’s cool to look at it and see where everyone is reading from. I don’t know if you read it or not, but on one of my posts not too long ago someone commented with a comment that was very personal and very hurtful and because of sitemeter I was able to figure out who it was. This person left another comment on a different post under a different name but I was able to figure out that it was the same person (or at least it was from the same location) by looking at sitemeter. It can be a helpful tool and I think it’s great you are doing all you can in regards to safety!

  2. Hey – I heard how hot it was out that way today. You guys keeping cool?

  3. MLBAH ~ Yeah, if you have the paid subscription, you can even pinpoint the exact IP addy of anyone who visits your blog. Whoa. I now remember you talking about the experience of the unkind poster. 😦 Anyone who sends me an ecard on my birthday *can’t* be bad!!! 😛 I can’t believe anyone would say anything hurtful towards you. That’s such a bummer.

    Melanie ~ NO, WE’RE NOT KEEPING COOL! It’s awful. We did go out today, only to the library and to Burger King, and it’s just blast-furnace hellish out there. On the 4th, it was 115* in my ZIP, and we’re usually 3-5* cooler than downtown Phoenix. Ack!! I seriously think about tubing down the Brazos River when I was 7.5 months pregant w/ my 3rd son whenever I need to dwell on something cool and lovely when I’m tempted to flip out over it being so terribly hot! Go get yourself to the river, my friend!! (Unless it’s flooded from all the crazy rain you had???)

  4. Hi! I just reloaded windows yesterday and lost part of my bookmarks – so I’m trying to redo…and started following links from favorites and found you from “Down Syndrome Life”.

    Sitemeter *is* tracking and leaving cookies – but so does Yahoo, so big deal.

Leave a Reply

