Crazy-weird “coincidence”

First, thank all of you for your prayers and well-wishes on my foot.  I see the orthopedist on Tues or Weds (I’m waiting for a call back from them to see if they can fit me in on Tuesday).  After that appointment, it’ll be a lot more clear how “serious” the situation is.  I’m really, really, really hoping that the bone is not displaced, and that they can just give me a walking cast.

Anyways.  The following crazy thing happened on Friday and I had to write about it.

There is a family with whom we’re very close.  In fact, the youngest daughter, Bethany, was the flower girl at my wedding.  But, she’s mostly grown up now, and will turn 18 later this month.  After graduating high school this past May, she applied for an internship at International House of Prayer (IHOP)  in Kansas City, and was accepted for a six-month term.  (IHOP is a world-renowned ministry that focuses on worship, prayer, and fasting, headed by the former Vineyard pastor, Mike Bickle, who — literally — served me water after a long, hot journey, 15 years ago, but that’s another story.)  Bethany left on June 26 for her six months.

Friday, I was praying for her, and the thought of someone else popped into my head.  I have long known that if someone spontaneously comes to mind while in prayer (or even while not in prayer) that it’s most often the Holy Spirit promping me to pray for them.  The person who came to mind is a neighbor of ours named Chad.  Chad is 19yo, totally “out there,” completely abandoned to Christ, a wildly on-fire Christian.  He looks like a surfer dude, with crazy blonde hair and frenetic personality, like ADHD for Jesus.  😆  Here is an excerpt of a report he made a month or so ago from Africa, where he was on a mission trip, ministering to AIDS victims in South Africa:

Yesterday we had a rough time working with the kids, but today God broke through after we spent the last few nights in hardcore intercession. It has been awesome to activate the team in the prophetic. We have been abounding in dreams and visions and prophetic words. … God is great and worthy! We are still pressing in for Him, because our God is into big things and miracles are sort of his forte. hah! yay God.

So there I was, praying for Bethany, and I think about Chad… then I think, “Why didn’t I think of this before?  Chad’s the most on-fire-for-God guy I know, and Bethany is the most on-fire-for-God girl I know.  When she gets back in December, I think I’ll try to introduce them.”  Then, less than an hour later, I got an e-mail from Bethany with a report from IHOP.  Now, she sent the e-mail out to a lot of people, not just me, but that was the first time I’d heard from her since she’d left.  I quickly wrote her back, and after a little deliberation and about 10 seconds of prayer, I decided to mention Chad.

The next morning, Saturday, I saw Bethany’s mom, Sheila.  She was bursting, and said, “Did you get a response from Bethany?”  I hadn’t, so Sheila told me that right after reading my e-mail, Bethany went to her car with a friend.  Right next to her car was a guy that Bethany knew — she had heard that he was in KC, as well, but hadn’t yet seen him.  They greeted, and then he told her that he was off to Nashville for a big prayer rally that was happening the next day, Saturday.  He said, “A friend of mine from Phoenix came up to join me… Hey, you’re from Phoenix!  His name is Chad.”  He introduced Bethany to Chad. 

Then, they drove away, with Bethany not connecting the dots.  It was her friend that said, “Hey, didn’t that e-mail from your friend mention a guy named Chad?”  Bethany called her mom to see if “my” Chad led worship at such-and-such church (he does) and if he has crazy blonde hair. 

That’s right.  The very same Chad I’d e-mailed her about that very same morning was sitting in Bethany’s friend’s car, there in Kansas City.

I talked to Chad’s mom last night about it… she told me that when Chad gets back on Tuesday from his trip, that she was sending him over to get the story from me.  She was blown away by it, too. 

Bethany says that Chad is not “her type” and honestly, he’s not.  She’s more attracted to the tall, dark and emotional type, not the surfer-dude-for-Jesus type.  Still.  There has to be something to this.  We’ll just wait and see what it is.

  

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on July 9, 2007, in Christian Living, Christianity, Friendships, God/Christianity/Church. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Rubber Chicken Girl

    I love matchmaking!! I hope it turns into something if it’s meant to be!!

  2. I love IHOP. Tell the story about Mike Bickle. I got hooked on the webcasts of the prayer room until they made them subscription only, I have direct TV, thus God TV so now I just TIVO prayer room sets and other interesting stuff.

  3. Shell ~ I so am NOT a matchmaker. I don’t think I’ve ever done anything like that in my life. But… this one was undeniable.

    Lisa ~ I didn’t know you were into IHOP!!!! That’s so cool!! We don’t pay for the webcasts, either, and we’re really happy w/ Cox cable. But, I’m starting to think about changing to Direct TV so we can get the prayer room sets… now, especially since Bethany made the worship team!!! (Which we found out yesterday.) They’re actually setting up a second prayer room that’ll be more like for training purposes, but those will be broadcast, too. She’ll be on the second-prayer-room team. Her first time is going to be on the 16th, so I’m planning on going to her mom’s house to see it. 🙂 And, I’ll tell the Mike Bickle story, too. It’s long, but I’ll work on it and post it soon.

  4. Sometimes the trouble is we look for Our type, and ignore when God is saying this is “His” type…lol

    Not that I am making that judgment, but if I were Bethany, I would definitely think twice before saying, “Not my type”.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

