I’m still here (sort of)!

What with a broken toe, and generally being behind on things around the home, and with the highly anticipated visit of my best friend Shellie, her hubby, and their five kids this coming weekend, I’ve been swamped!  Also, we were going to leave on Monday for a week of vacation, and I was gearing up for that, too, but we’ve decided to delay that for a month or so.

At random:

  • Audrey is talking up a storm.  At 15 months, she has a much wider vocabulary than any of my three boys did at this age.  She loves three-syllable words, often turning one or two syllable words into larger words, which makes the guessing game of, “What is Audrey saying?” more difficult.  For instance, “bobboli” equals “bottle.”  😀  We still haven’t figured out what “boppadoo” means… 
  • An absolutely fantastic book I just finished yesterday is called In this House of Brede by Rumer Godden.  In short, it’s about a widow who joins an English Benedictine monastery to become a nun.  It is tender, powerful, emotional w/o being sappy or trite, well-written, gripping, insightful, tense, sad, joyful…  So many books that are “Christian” are satisfied with poor artfulness… and so much good art in books just leaves me feeling slimed.  This book is a pinnacle of both:  good art + good message.  (The title above is linked to Amazon, since they have some good reviews of the book and more information in general on the book.  But better copies at better prices are available at Alibris.  Plus, a new hardcover edition is due out in September.)  Many thanks to Helen, who had originally recommended it.  I bought a copy for my cousin, Jeana, who is a Benedictine nun at a monastery in Indiana.  She told me that she’d never read it, but she knows a couple of nuns and monks who regularly read the book as a reminder of the purpose and the joy of contemplative life.  On the current monastery homepage linked above, Jeana is pictured at the top of the page, in black in the picture above the text “Join Us.”
  • I got a haircut!  Might not seem blogworthy, but when one gets a haircut only once a year, max, that’s news.  It’s funny, though:  What seemed a *HUGE* change for me — I got six inches cut off, plus added a few bangs, which I haven’t had in more than 10 years, and some serious layering — got virtually no notice in church.  NOT that I was hoping for tons of compliments or anything, but only like three people noticed.  It’s obviously not as significant to others as it is to me. 
  • My dear Diamonbacks are on a skid!!  Even Micah Owings, for whom I’ve been very hopeful all year, has dropped from a 5-1 record to a 5-5 record.  Ugh.  I still love baseball, even when watching it seems sort of masochistic.
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on July 18, 2007, in Baseball, Books I'm Reading, Friendships, Medical Stuff, Random Stuff, Sports Stuff, The Kids, Travelling. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Glad you are still there and managing with the broken toe….where are the pics of the hair cut? 🙂

  2. Yeah, I just got about a foot cut off the length of my hair and nobody noticed either! I don’t know…!

    I’m glad you liked In This House Of Brede. I still find myself thinking about it. It sounds cliched but it’s a book that really “spoke” to me. Before reading it, I couldn’t imagine why anybody would want to join an enclosed order but now I think I have some sort of understanding and could almost even relate to their way of life.

  3. Hm! Sorry I didn’t notice the hair cut… I think I don’t see you often enough to notice such changes.

  4. Glad to see you back. I also get a haircut about once a year, but I always get it cut “really” short for the summer, which is very noticeable to folks. People (men especially) seem to just class hair as either “long” or “short” and don’t see any changes in between!

  5. I don’t get my hair cut very often either. I’m sure that the reason people haven’t said much is because your hair looks beautiful as usual. Still, it’s nice to hear.

    Have a nice vacation. Maybe when you get back and aren’t swamped, you can think of 8 random things about yourself to share.

  6. That’s so cute about Audrey. What a blessing that she’s got such a good early start! It must be a girl thing.

Leave a Reply

