My friend Shellie, her hubby, and their five kids spent the weekend…

…and I have NOT ONE picture to show for it!!  I cannot believe I took NO pictures while they were here.  Duh!!

They arrived Friday late afternoon, and stayed through Sunday evening.  Our home, while spacious enough for a family of six, felt rather crowded with THIRTEEN people in it.  Noisy, too.  In fact, in asking my hubby how he felt the weekend went, he paused, and said, “It was really noisy.”  Then he said, “Actually, it went really well.  But you know how I am with noise.”  Why, yes, I do.  He doesn’t like a lot of competing sounds, and thirteen people make a lot of competing sounds.

I was really happy, though, because I knew that Martin would really like Darin, Shellie’s husband, whom he’d never met.  I was right.  They got along great.

The only time Shellie and I got to spend by ourselves was one lone late-night grocery store trip.  Sheesh.

Shell’s family is spending the rest of the week in Sedona, and the kids and I are going to go up there later this week for a day.  I’ll bring the camera.  🙄

In other news…

  • My brother-in-law, Adam, is staying with us for a week.  He’s been living & working w/ my FIL in Colorado.  Adam is doing pavers in our front courtyard, which has been dirt for the nearly two years that we’ve lived in this home.  He’s also staining the concrete walkway pads, and I think I may be more excited about the concrete stain than the pavers.  It’ll look fantastic. 
  • I was nervous about booking swim lessons for my kids that started at 8:00 a.m.;  I didn’t think I could get all four kids and myself out the door in time.  However, it’s been *great.*  For instance, today, we had swim lessons, met some friends (the only other homeschooling family from my church — she has two boys) at the Glendale Rec Center for some free foosball, pool, and ping pong in their activity room.  Then we went to the park and — delightedly — got rained upon.  (When one lives in the desert, one gets giddy about the rain.)  Then, we opted for the drive-through at Burger King, because the boys were soaked & sandy, and Audrey was exhausted.  We were home by 1:00, feeling like we already had a full day.  🙂
  • Last night, Martin (and Adam) took the older boys, 10yo Ethan and almost-8yo Grant to see the Diamondbacks beat the Marlins.  The boys had earned their tickets from the library summer reading program.  Wes, though he earned a ticket, too, can’t go to the ballpark, since it is Peanut Central, and he’s anaphylaxic to peanuts.  (That is, stops breathing in their presence.)  So, I tried to make our evening special.  I made corn dogs, which were semi-unsuccessful (the batter kept falling off, but they tasted good).  I also made GFCF brownies from a recipe from a recent Living Without magazine, which I semi-modified.  They turned out fantastic!!  They were super chocolatey, dense-but-not-heavy, moist, tender, but sort of crispy on the top, which, IMO, is just right.  Even my friend Allison, who proclaimed herself a brownie afficionado, said they were “really, really good” and asked for the recipe for a friend of hers.  (BTW, Wesley is on a gfcf diet not for autism;  he’s gluten-free because he has celiac disease, and casein-free because all dairy triggers an immediate asthmatic reaction.  We’ve been g.f. for nearly five years, but c.f. only since March of this year.) 

Well, that’s all for now;  Audrey’s waking from a nap. 

I feel badly, like a super self-focused, non-communal blogger, because I’ve hardly read anything from all my blog-friends in the last 2-3 weeks.  I’ll try to catch up w/ y’all soon!!  

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on July 24, 2007, in Arizona, Baseball, Blogging, Celiac Disease, Colorado, Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Dairy-free, Extended Family Drama/News, Friendships, God/Christianity/Church, Homeschooling, Life in the Desert, Random Stuff, Sports Stuff, Summer Plans, The Dear Hubby, The Kids, Travelling, Vineyard Phoenix. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’ve been wondering how you’ve been and what you’ve been up to. I was thinking you hadn’t been on here much. Glad to hear you’re doing well! How is your foot?

  2. I hate, hate, hate it when I forget to take pics. 😦 Even reading your post makes me feel guilty for the last time I forgot. I know, I need help, but psychiatrist’s are expensive and…;-)

Leave a Reply

