…Still Searchin’, Still Decidin’, not Quite Organized Yet…

It makes me nervous when we’re 5-ish weeks away from the start of school, and I don’t have my curriculum nailed down.   Well, I just checked the calendar, and since I’ve decided to start on Sept 10, that makes it six weeks minus one day until we start.  Still.  That seems a short time off.

This coming school year, Ethan (5th grade) is going to continue Sonlight Core 3, doing more on his own than ever before so that I can do Core 1 with Grant (3rd grade) and Wesley (1st grade).

I know I’m also going to do Singapore Math with Ethan, which I haven’t yet ordered.  Same with Grant.  For Wes, we’re going to rip through his Singapore Earlybird that we didn’t get through last year because Wesley’s writing skills weren’t up to par.  (His mental math skills, though, are fabulous.)

For science, I still haven’t settled exactly on which texts I’m going to use with Ethan.  I have it “narrowed” down to seven from which I still need to choose.  He is going to be doing Earth Science, emphasis on Geology, further emphasis on Rocks & Minerals.  For Wes & Grant, I’ll do the Sonlight Science 1 which isn’t fabulous, but is solid (and free, since I already have the materials).

For English, we will continue Ethan’s trip through Rod & Staff English 4, which we only got 2/3 of the way through last year.  In defense of my slowness, Ethan also did a lot of other English activities, including journalling and additional spelling work.  Grant is only about 5% of the way through Rod & Staff English 2;  he’s been behind on his English due to fine motor/writing issues, as well.  For Wes, I think I’ll probably do Explode the Code, in addition to continuing First Language Lessons.

So.  Still to do is

  • Decide on a science curric for Ethan
  • Get our Core 1 stuff out of storage, and organize it
  • Order Maths for E & G, and ETC for Wes

Hm.  I guess that doesn’t sound like so much.  Still.  I don’t like it hanging about my conscience, telling me, “You’re not ready for school yet, Karen!”

Ugh.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on July 31, 2007, in Get Organized!, Homeschooling, Summer Plans, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I feel your pain! We are starting August 13th and I still don’t have a few of the books we need. I do know what I’m using but I haven’t found them at a price I can afford and I’m running out of time! UGH!

    I might have told you this already because I think you had written a post about science but we really like Apologia science. They have a great series of elementary science books!

  2. MLBAH ~

    I have checked out Apologia. In fact, just this morning, I was perusing their different curricula (again). They don’t have an earth science/geology text, even for the higher grades! I will most certainly use Apologia, but not this year. I was thinking about e-mailing them to see if they are working on an earth science/geology curric.

    If you e-mail me with the books you need, I’ll help you look!! Seriously! I love research, and I love finding a good deal, and I’d be happy to help if I can.

  3. I really like sonlight. We’re starting sept. 10 too and I feel like I don’t have enough planned out yet!

    I wanted to tell you the Love2learn.net sells singapore and so far it’s the cheapest I’ve found.

  4. Thanks, entropy!!! I will certainly check out that website.

  5. Ah, you were doing much better than me at this point. My dh had to come to me two weeks ago and say…”Honey, don’t you need to order some books or something?” Oh, yeah. A little too laid back in my homeschooling, eh? 😀

Leave a Reply

