The Middle Name Meme

Sarah at The Learning Umbrella, tagged me eons ago (actually, July 13th) for a middle name meme.  I rather dislike memes that have bunches of rules, but the meme itself is quite interesting, so here goes:

  1. You have to post these rules before you give you the facts.
  2. Players, you must list one fact that is somehow relevant to your life for each letter of their middle name. If you don’t have a middle name, use the middle name you would have liked to have had.
  3. When you are tagged you need to write your own blog-post containing your own middle name game facts.
  4. At the end of your blog-post, you need to choose one person for each letter of your middle name to tag.
  5. Don’t forget to leave them a comment telling them they’re tagged, and to read your blog.

My middle name is JOY.  So…

J ~ is for jog.  Breaking my toe, which has rendered me unable to hike, let alone jog, is heightening my desire to get out and run again.  I love to run, but right now I’m not in great shape, and want to start up again.  It’s my goal to run a marathon by the time I’m 35, so I need to get crackin’ because I have less than a year left to reach that goal!

O ~ is for obstinate.  I tend to be rather unyielding.  I like to figure out the best way to do something, then do it.  I don’t like for anyone to try to dissuade me, and it’s hard for me to alter course, once I’m set in motion.  This can be both a good thing and a bad thing.

Y ~ is for yesterday.  I want to be on a course of continual improvement.  I don’t want my tomorrows to be stuck in my yesterdays.  One of the things I love best about Christianity is that I’m not stuck forever with my faults and flaws and errors of yesterday — Christianity is all about going “further up and further in” and not being stagnant, nor having a victim mentality, nor about making excuses about “that’s just the way I am.”  Hope isn’t just about heaven;  it’s about a better life here on earth.

And now… whom to tag???  Julie at Five Past Clock, Kiva the Southern Girl, and Melissa at Tea with Milk (I know you’re not real big on memes, my friend, but maybe you have a short middle name???)   

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on August 2, 2007, in Christian Living, Introspective Musings, Memes, Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Okay, sweet girl…I’ll bite. Fortunately I have a short middle name. 🙂 Will publish tonight.

  2. Holy smokes, do you know how LONG my middle name is?! This one will take me a bit to ponder.

  1. Pingback: Middle Name Meme « Musings of a southern girl at heart

Leave a Reply

