Money well-spent

Really, I couldn’t figure out what all the hype about bedsheet thread-count was until last night.

We needed new sheets.  I had most recently purchased a set a couple of years ago.  I remember agonizing over the decision, trying to get the highest quality for the lowest price (something that I try to do all the time).  Turns out, I picked wrong.  I don’t remember the threadcount, but they were all cotton, had a teensy bit of nice trim, and I liked ’em.  But, they were always completely wrinkly right out of the dryer (and I’m NOT the type to iron sheets).  Then, they somehow got big splotches of ink on them, which I never quite figured out.  Then, they got a few holes in them, which I couldn’t figure out, either.  Then, they started getting threadbare.  Then, my hubby shoved his heel through the fitted sheet, which was followed by a big rrrrriiiiiiiiiip! sound.  Sheets that go threadbare in less than 3 years?  Our “backup” set of sheets is over 10 years old, and while very thin (and very soft!), they’re no where close to being threadbare.

That sheet is now cut up into cleaning rags, and on our bed is a nice new set of sheets.

On Saturday, from Kohl’s, I got five new beach towels, the set of sheets, and a pack of undershirts for my 10yo, all for $50.  All of the stuff was on sale or clearance, and I had a $10 coupon.  I was very pleased. 

We needed the beach towels, too, since the boys left three of our towels in Oak Creek Canyon, and I didn’t notice, being distracted by my baby and my very dear friend, Shellie, and the whole rigamarole of who’s-riding-with-whom.  (Really, I’m about the only mom in America — except for maybe Shellie — who can’t multitask.  Most moms would have quickly noticed that their children did not come to the truck with the towels they started the afternoon out with.  Not me.  I didn’t notice until we were on our way home, and a good 30 minutes away from the canyon.  Ugh.)  I had actually been beach towel-shopping a couple of times, but didn’t want to pay the $10+ sale prices I’d found.  So, the boys finished their swimming lessons using bath towels, and my waiting paid off, since all the beach towels are now about $3.25-4.50 at Kohl’s.

The sheets were 300 count cotton, and on clearance.  60% off of $69.99 = $28 for some really nice sheets.  They were in a clearance pattern which coordinates with the comforter we already have.  The sheets are well-made, have very deep pockets on the fitted sheet, which is elasticized all the way around, so they fit our really-tall mattress perfectly.  The sheets are smooth and soft, and I can tell you, I’m very happy to have my nice-quality sheets at a cheap price.  🙂

(BTW, buy your kids’ undershirts, etc. at Target, not at Kohl’s.  I should have known.  We bought a 3-pack on sale for $5.99, and then went to Target where I saw a 5-pack of the same brand on sale for $5.)

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on August 21, 2007, in Arizona, Clothes, Random Stuff, Shopping, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Costco sheets are heaven. About $70…more than I wanted to pay but oh so worth it.

  2. You are a woman after my own heart. I work in a consignment store, but their prices are still too high for me! I find if I dig hard enough, I can find high-end brand clothing with no stains at thrift stores for dirt cheap. As for sheets, though … I’d definitely want to get that new. And I’d probably wind up buying a cheap set and then complaining about it. 😀

  3. We are sleeping on ‘middle of the range’ sheets I bought when we first got married. They are now 7 years old and quite thin. When they are finally replaced, we’ll definitely get high thread count ones. After all, there’s nothing like a good nights sleep, and it’s worth the extra money with something you use ever single day.

  4. Rubber Chicken Girl

    Bought three towels, thank-you ma’am. And one unneeded but necessary cookbook. Cupcakes–all glorious cupcakes!! Poison-filled ones, but the ideas are there.

  5. Wow. That’s funny. I thought, “Surely, I’ve hit a low point, blogging about my sheets. No one’s going to read this drivel!” 🙄 😆 I’m glad you can all relate!!!

  6. Relating here, too, about the sheets and the lack of ability to multi task. I thought I was the only one on the planet who could not do that!

    Way to go on your bargains!

Leave a Reply

