I repent of my judgemental attitude towards….

…the kind of folk who buy a ready-made packaged vacation, then plunk the family dog in a kennel, and blithely go on their way with a few bits of clothing in a suitcase. 

All that lack of planning and preparation is starting to look really good right about now.

We leave tomorrow for Colorado — three nights in a cabin along the Dolores River in SW Colorado (just south of Telluride), then five nights with my father-in-law, who lives in Pagosa Springs, Colorado.

I should publish all my planning lists just so y’all could see what making a 9-day trip for a family of six entails.  Add to that the arrangements for someone to stay at our home and take care of our dog (my many thanks to Caleb T.!), which means I need to make sure everything is in tip-top order here on the homefront, as well.

And we’re not even camping this year!!  (Though camping adds exponentially to the planning, prep and work, I’ve officially put in my request to The Hub for a camping trip next year;  I just love to be out in the wilderness, and I love how my kids love it.) 

Granted, with 1/2 of our family on a gluten-free diet, and 1/3 of us being dairy free, as well, it’s likely that no matter where we go, some serious meal planning and food toting is going to be required.  Still.  It’s a lotta work getting all this relaxation planned.  😀

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on August 26, 2007, in Celiac Disease, Colorado, Dairy-free, Get Organized!, Loving Nature!, Summer Plans, The Dear Hubby, The Kids, Travelling, Whining. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Have a great time!

  2. I hope you have a great holiday! It sounds lovely!

  3. Oh, I know what you mean! It’s so much work to go on vacation, and then I’m so tired after ward that I feel like I need a week of rest to recover from my week of vacation! Have a good time!

  4. Wow! I hope you have a great time and that your enjoyment isn’t undone by the leaving and the coming back home.

Leave a Reply

