Ethan’s first Little League game, and an unfortunate meeting with an old friend

And I don’t have a pic to show for it, because — bad mom! — I forgot my camera.  Another mom volunteered her camera, saying she’d e-mail the pics.  I took some nice ones, but neglected to give her my e-mail addy.  Duh.  I’ll do that tonight, as there is another game.

Anyways.  The game was Saturday.  His team won 7-6.  It’s Fall Instructional League, so, honestly, it wasn’t the smoothest, nor the quickest of games.  They called the game at the 1:45 time limit, and the boys had only gone four innings. 

Not that I’m biased or anything 🙄 , but I think Ethan did great.  As a batter, he went 0 for 1 with one walk and a strikeout.  He played an inning at 2nd base, one at 3rd, and sat out one inning.  But, he also pitched an inning, seeing a little of everything:  he struck out two, walked one, hit one batter, induced a slow-rolling groundout, and gave up one hit.

In odd news, we saw an old friend, another mom whom Martin and I used to know, used to go to church with, back when we were all single.  It was very strange.  She in short-shorts and a sleeveless top and kitten heels, speaking of her divorce, and how her 7yo son is her “life,” and how she sold her old house and downsized to 3400 s.f., and about her business, and how’s she’s building a state-of-the-art facility for her women’s fitness training and motivational speaking business.  She looked at me pointedly, “And what are you doing?” 

Ugh. 

I hate that moment, when I know that my answer of, “I’m being a stay-at-home mom to our four children and homeschooling the oldest three,” will be viewed as “less than” and inadequate, even when I KNOW it’s a valuable “profession.”  I rather let myself be excused, finding some reason for which one of my children needed me, elsewhere, leaving Martin to fend for himself, noble and capable man that he is.  😀 

Martin and I talked briefly about it afterwards, and came to the conclusion that she’s just gone down a different path with different values, and oh, well.  What can you do about it, except hope not to see her in the future?

In other news, not for the weak-of-stomach, 17-month-old Audrey is ill. She’s had diarrhea since LAST Sunday.  For a day or so, she’ll look like things are healing, but then it kicks back in with a stinky vengeance.  She’s not dehydrated, but I’m starting to get concerned. She ate two Goldfish crackers on the sly last Sunday in the church nursery, then, she ate a handful of sand here at home (and our dog’s been relieving herself in the sandbox lately — UGH!!!).  Even if the gluten bothered her, it wouldn’t go on for a whole week+.  I may have to bring her to the doctor, but historically, doctors just don’t help much with gastrointestinal issues, and I fear it’ll be a waste of time.  But, now she’s running a fever, and my heart just goes out to my daughter.  I feel like I have to do something.  
 

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on September 24, 2007, in Baseball, Digestive Woes, Friendships, God/Christianity/Church, Homeschooling, Marriage, Medical Stuff, Motherhood, Parenting, Sad Things, Sports Stuff, The Dear Hubby, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Congrats on Ethan’s little league game! Aren’t those fun!! 🙂

    I know what you mean about what to say when someone asks the question, “what do you do?”. Just as you said, we know it’s the greatest thing on earth that we CAN be doing yet others can make us feel worthless when we share it. I just remember that it’s not what they think that matters but how my children turn out and so far they are pretty neat people. 😉

    I’m so sorry about your daughter!! I pray that she gets better very quickly and nothing is wrong with her!!

  2. What about slippery elm bark? Does that work with your diet? It restores intestinal flora, thereby relieving vomitting and diarrhea. It works when we are ill with stomach stuff. It’s gentle, too.

  3. Poor baby, I hope she’s better soon!

  4. What is that diet for diarhea? Rice, toast, apples, chicken??? You are right about the docs and diarrhea but since she is little I’d at least call cause a fever and a week, that is a long time.

    Blessings!

  5. Poor baby. Hope she’s better soon.

  6. I do hope Audrey is feeling better, any update as I am obviously late in my reading? Congrats to Ethan and what a joy to see him be able to play a sport that he loves.

    Yes our job is very important and yet it can sound like less when compared to other jobs but hold fast and steady because the rest of that stuff is temporary. 😉

  7. Many thanks to all of you kind ladies, and your concern for my family!!!

    The good news is that today, Wednesday, Audrey was *finally* healthy — no fever, no diarrhea. But… now, Ethan has it!!!! So it must be viral. Eek!! 😯 I’m praying for E’s quick recovery, and for protection for the rest of us.

  8. Why is it that although we *know* that our jobs as wife, mommy, homemaker and homeschool teacher are extremely important, we let other “career moms” intimidate us? I know I’m where I’m supposed to be, and that should be fine. God put me here, I wouldn’t want to be anywhere else!

    Sounds like Ethan is having fun with his baseball!

Leave a Reply

