Mrs. Cook’s 3rd Grade Class

Circa 1982:

Mrs. Cook’s 3rd Grade Class

Circa 2007:

(I sat right behind Bobby Howry in Mrs. Cook’s 3rd Grade class.  Laura Boatman and I had a huge crush on him.  He had absolutely no tolerance for the tender hearts of little girls, and was continually highly annoyed by even our existence.

It’s kind of cool to see someone I knew way back when become a Major League pitcher.  But, now with the Diamondbacks playing the Cubs in the NLDS, I’m really not wishing for his personal success.)

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on October 4, 2007, in Baseball, Memories. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Neat! Nice to know there are still a few pro atheletes in my age group. Dr. G. went to school with a pro snowboarder, I can’t remember who it is though. Is he the pither that threw himself to the ground in anger when the hitter got a three-run homer off of him last night?

  2. No… that’s not the same pitcher, Erin. That was the starter Ted Lilly, and yes, that was quite a fit, wasn’t it?!?

    Bobby Howry is a middle reliever, usually throwing an inning or two after the starting pitcher and before the closer.

    I’ve actually followed Bobby’s career somewhat, when I first saw in a local newspaper that he’d gone pro in 1998. But he pitched for several AL teams (White Sox, Red Sox, Indians), which I really don’t watch much of, until the playoffs. Then, he was given a multi-year contract by the Cubs, and since the D’backs actually play the Cubs, I’ve actually gotten to see him pitch (on TV).

Leave a Reply

