Notes from the NLDS

 

In the National League (which I follow most, since the Diamonbacks are in the NL), the wildcard Rockies are beating the NL East leaders, the Phillies, two games to none.  That was a huge surprise to about everyone except Rockies fans.

Also in the NL, the Diamondbacks are beating the Cubs two games to none, which, also — even though the D’backs had the best record of ALL the National League teams — is a surprise to everyone except D’backs fans.

In last night’s Diamondbacks win, honestly, I fell asleep.  I was so tired.  When the one-hour mark passed, and we were still in the 2nd inning, my hubby and I knew we were in for a long game.  It ended up being 3 hours 44 minutes, and I just couldn’t make it that long.  I think I fell asleep in the 6th inning.  But, we had been leading for most of the game, and I was confident we’d win, which we did, 8-4.

Two things that I’m really happy about in this nationally televised series: 

  1. Stephen Drew is having a *great* series.  He really struggled offensively in the middle-to-end of the regular season, but he’s the kind of guy I can’t help but rooting for:  a hard worker, very quiet and unassuming, making a consistent effort and not pitching (many) fits.  In the first game, he had a towering home run, and in the second game, he went 2-for-5 with a 2-run triple.  No better time than the postseason to get one’s act together.
  2. Chris Young is getting some well-deserved attention.  Of course, Rockies fans think Troy Tulowitzki should get Rookie of the Year, and Brewers fans think Ryan Braun should get it.  But NO Rookie has EVER gotten more home runs (34) + stolen bases (27) in his rookie year than Chris Young.  Yeah, his batting average is lower than Tulowitzki’s and Brauns, but in everything else, he’s better than either of those two.  And, Young’s clutch THREE RUN HOMERUN in last night’s win against the Cubs is just a case-in-point why Young should win.

One minor (potential) disappointment:  Since the Dbacks have won the first two games, and Livan Hernandez is pitching the 3rd game tomorrow, it looks like we won’t be seeing Micah Owings pitch in this NLDS series.  Even if the D’backs lost game #3 and the series had to go to a 4th game, I’m thinking that manager Bob Melvin would bring Brandon Webb in on 4 days’ rest instead of starting Micah.  😦  Bummer.  The world needs to see my favorite pitcher!!!!

   

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on October 5, 2007, in Arizona, Baseball, Sports Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’d guess Mr Owings is hoping for the sweep, himself.

  2. Yes, the concerns of the team do override the concerns of the individual… But, I was hoping he’d at least get to pinch hit. Bob Melvin said that Micah always comes into the dugout with his cleats on, ready to go. I like that picture; I like that attitude, and I just want a chance for him to help the team and to shine.

Leave a Reply

