GFCF Mexican Breakfast Pizza

This is pretty high-fat, but very tasty, and very easy.  I liked it, and all four of my kids scarfed this up, and asked me to make it again.  It’s also gluten-free and casein-free (dairy-free).  You could easily add shredded cheese to this, if you don’t require a dairy-free diet.

GFCF Mexican Breakfast Pizza

Makes 6 servings
Prep and cook time approximately 30 minutes

8 oz bacon, diced
8 eggs
10 corn tortillas
Salsa to taste
(other optional toppings:  shredded cheese, slivers of green/spring onion tops, black olives, diced fresh tomato, canned diced green chile)

In a large (12″) skillet, fry the bacon until crispy over medium-high heat, stirring frequently.  While the bacon cooks, break the eggs into a small bowl and beat them with a fork or whisk.  When the bacon is done, remove with a slotted spoon, leaving the bacon grease in the skillet.  Into the bacon grease, lay the corn tortillas, starting at the outside edge, going in a circle, overlapping them.  Over the corn tortillas, pour the beaten eggs, covering the bottom of the skillet.  Over the eggs, sprinkle the cooked bacon evenly.  (Optional — sprinkle 4-8 oz shredded cheese over the bacon.)  Cover the skillet, and cook over medium heat until the eggs are thoroughly cooked.

(While the eggs cook, the tortillas cook crisply in the bacon grease, making a firm crust on the bottom of your pizza.) 

Remove from heat, and cut the “pizza” into six or eight slices, topping each according to taste.

Enjoy! 

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on October 16, 2007, in Celiac Disease, Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Dairy-free, GF Recipes, GFCF Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Rubber Chicken Girl

    I bought some sausage instead. I hope I have tortillas. I used to make something like this individually scrambling and egg on each tortilla, then sprinkling on cheese, green o and sausage and chiles. Then we’d cover it to cook the egg through and garnish with sour cream and salsa or tomato. Your way would be a TON less hassle (is that the was one spells hassle??).

  2. Yeah, I’ve done it the way you’ve described before, too. This was so easy and so tasty, I can’t believe I haven’t thought of it before.

    And, yes, I think that’s the way one spells “hassle” but it looks weird, doesn’t it??

  3. Yay! I’ve been trolling for new breakfast ideas – you’re a lifesaver!

    P.S. The GFCF Maple Pumpkin Pie turned out great – it’s in my Oct. 16th post. : )

    http://inlifeofachild.blogspot.com

  1. Pingback: ALL THE RECIPES!! « Only Sometimes Clever

Leave a Reply

