GFCF Lemon Bars Recipe

Do you have a standard dessert that you know you can make with things that you keep regularly in your pantry?  Mine, even before we went gluten-free, has for years been lemon bars…  Shortbread crust and a thick custard-y, tart, lemony top.  Yum.  I use a recipe from a 1979 edition of a cookbook compiled from the staff of Oral Roberts University that my dad got for me when I was a little girl.  I’ve altered the recipe to make it g.f., and made a few procedural changes… but, in essence, it’s still the recipe of one Sharon Walters, who was the secretary of the Biochemistry department.  So, with thanks to her…

99209b89ad57a7416db0d177cd406299GFCF Lemon Bars

2/3 c. sweet rice flour
2/3 c. corn starch (or other starch)
2/3 c. brown rice flour (or white rice flour)
1/2 c. powdered sugar (plus additional for dusting)
1 c. shortening (I use Spectrum non-hydrogenated)
optional:  1-2 tsp finely grated lemon zest
4 eggs
2 cups granulated sugar
1/2 cup lemon juice
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 c. (additional) sweet rice flour

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Line a 9″ x 13″ pan with nonstick foil AND spray lightly with nonstick oil spray.

Combine 2/3 cup each sweet rice flour, corn starch, brown rice flour and 1/2 c. powdered sugar in a small bowl.  With a whisk, combine thoroughly.  With a wooden spoon, stir in shortening (and 1 tsp. lemon zest, if using).  It will form a dough that is “wetter” than your standard “crumbly” flour and shortening mixture, and will be fairly sticky.  Using plastic wrap to help you manipulate the dough, press it into the bottom of the pan.  Press the dough a little higher along the sides of the pan, up about 1/2 inch, so that the dough is “dish” shaped.  Bake this crust in the oven for about 20 minutes until it is lightly browned.

In a small bowl, beat together the eggs, sugar, lemon juice (and an additional, optional 1 tsp lemon zest).  In another small bowl (or even a 1 c. measuring cup), thoroughly combine the remaining 1/4 c. sweet rice flour and the baking powder.  When the crust is nearly done baking, whisk the flour mixture into the egg mixture, combining thoroughly.  Pour this over the crust, and bake for an additional 25 minutes, or until the top is lightly browned and no longer jiggles when you gently shake the baking pan.

Cool, then dust with powdered sugar* and cut into bars with a sharp knife.  (Or, lift the whole thing out of the pan by the foil, lay on a flat surface, and cut with an oiled pizza cutter.)

*To dust the bars, simply place a couple of Tablespoons of powdered sugar into a small wire mesh strainer and tap it with the heel of your hand over the bars.

These are especially good with a cup of hot tea.  Enjoy!

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 10, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and an erstwhile birthing class instructor. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on October 19, 2007, in Celiac Disease, Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Dairy-free, GF Recipes, GFCF Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Sounds yummy. I’m going to have to try making these! But not right now, when I’m trying to crank out the cookies …

  2. Rubber Chicken Girl

    Been there, done that. Today, before the day derailed. Comfort food tonight I suppose. Different flour combo and half marg / half crisco. Turned out well. I had been experimenting on lemon bars. I’ll have to try what I came up with again and yours with the correct flours…

  3. Rubber Chicken Girl

    Did you melt the shortening or use a mixer or stir by hand??

  4. I didn’t melt it. Just stirred it in w/ a wooden spoon.

  5. I am so thankful for your recipe. I tried to rework mine GF and it was no bueno. These are one of my favorite desserts and I didn’t feel like making any more that weren’t delicious. These are wonderful! Nice and lemony just they way we like them.

  6. I just made these lemon bars for my sister and nephew, who are gluten intolerant. We LOVE them! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!

  7. HOPE YOU ARE WELL AND BLESSED.

    DO YOU THINK A LEMON BAR RECIPE CAN EXIT THAT DOESN’T CONTAIN ANY WHEAT, RYE, RICE, OATS, MAIZE, BARLEY, EGG, MILK, SOY, AND POTATO INGREDIENTS? (MY KID WAS TESTED ALLERGIC TO ALL OF THESE INCLUDING WATERMELON, TOMATO, OLIVES
    I AM STILL NEW TO THE GLUTEN-FREE THING AND DID MAKE SOME MUFFINS CONTAINING MILLET- AND ALMOND FLOUR (WHICH ENDED UP IN CRUMBS, BECAUSE THE ORIGINAL RECIPE CONTAIN MILLET AND SOY FLOUR AND I SUBSTITUTED THE SOY FLOUR WITH ALMOND FLOUR). 🙂

  8. These are the BEST lemon bars. Got the recipe out again today and made them for my hubby’s birthday! Wish I had the nutritional info on them.

Leave a Reply

