Gluten-free Starbucks??!!?? Could it be true??

I got a forwarded e-mail from my gluten-free friend, Shellie, saying that Starbucks was testing the market to see if it would be worthwhile for them to carry gluten-free desserts.

I called their 1-800 number, and it IS true. The girl I spoke with did mention that they have received a lot of calls in favor of this, and that they would love to hear from as many people as possible.

The phone number is 1-800-235-2883, press “0”.

I don’t go to Starbucks a whole lot… well, unless you consider 1-2x/month ” a whole lot.”  And whenever I do go, the only dessert that is gluten-free would either be chocolate, or they have a fresh fruit bowl with a sweet vanilla dip.  While both of those are tasty, it would be absolutely fabulous to have a baked-good like a brownie to enjoy with my cappuccino.  🙂

Here is a post from a lady who lives in NYC, where the brownie was being test-marketed, who had the very good fortune to try it.  (They actually pulled the brownie from the stores, and are now tabulating the information received in the test-run, so from what I understand, it is not currently availabe.  But, if Starbucks gets a lot of interest in and support of such a product, surely they’d bring it back!!  And not just in Manhattan!) 

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on October 22, 2007, in Celiac Disease, Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Gluten-Free Blogfriends and Resources. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. That would be so cool!

  2. I love Starbucks and would be thrilled if they served gluten-free desserts to accompany their fabulous coffee:)!

  1. Pingback: Starbucks considering gluten-free offerings « Only Sometimes Clever

Leave a Reply

