Pet Peeve: eBay Feedback Blackmailers

I always leave feedback on eBay.  I’m not always super-fast, except when I’m selling:  as soon as payment is received, I leave feedback.  As a buyer, I leave feedback after I receive the item.  Occasionally, I get sidetracked by more important things, and don’t leave feedback for a bit after the transaction — a few days to a couple of weeks.  But, I do regularly check to see if I’ve forgotten to leave anyone feedback.

If there’s a problem, I always contact the seller before leaving feedback, and I’ve *always* gained successful resolution to the issue.  I just checked my eBay account:  I’ve never left neutral feedback for anyone, and just once left negative for someone, but it was for Alibris, so it’s not like I hurt the feelings of an individual.  Usually, if there’s been something that would make it impossible for me to honestly leave positive feedback, I just don’t leave feedback at all, and send a note to the seller to let them know why.  I try my best to be demanding neither as a seller nor as a buyer.  I don’t think any of my negative experiences have never been from someone purposefully trying to deceive or swindle…. it’s usually just an oversight, and if the seller takes steps to resolve the problem, I don’t think that deserves negative feedback.

What REALLY bothers me is folks who blackmail for positive feedback.  You know, sellers who say, “As soon as positive feedback is left for me, I’ll leave it for you!!”  IOW, “I will not leave positive feedback for you, even if you deserve it, if you don’t leave positive feedback for ME.”

I had a transaction recently where I think the seller really went over the top.  I mean, don’t they have something better to do with their time other than to send me messages demanding that I leave positive feedback for them????

Perhaps I’m over-reacting, but this sort of thing really chaps my hide.

 If you have received your item, and are satisfied with it, please leave feedback. I will reciprocate!
Thanks for the business! 

Then, the very next day:

Please leave your feedback thru the eBay feedback system.
Thanks

So.  I guess it’s not that big of a deal, but I don’t think sellers should be trolling for positive feedback.

After the first message, I told the seller that feedback would soon be forthcoming.  After the second message, I’ve decided not to leave her feedback at all.  Stop nagging me!!!  I don’t care if she leaves me negative feedback for it, either, even though I currently have 100% positive feedback.

Humph.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on October 22, 2007, in Shopping, Whining. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Rubber Chicken Girl

    I have gotten a person or two that will nag….I mean really nag. Not just remind, but say it kind of snottily and pushily. That does bug me. Once your rating is sky high and excellent, does it really matter if the occasional person blows it off. I mean, I understand a little more early on when you are desperate to build your rating and the confidence tha brings to buyers, but once established, don’t stress about 100% compliance.

  2. I agree completely about the nagging thing but I know first hand why sellers will wait to leave feedback until it’s left for them. Five different times I had buyers leave me negative feedback and completely lie on the comment. They were all different things that they said but every one of them was untrue. To protect myself from that I stopped leaving feedback until it had been left for me. As a result, I’ve not had an untrue comment left since. I’ve never bugged someone about leaving it though -whether or not they do is up to them.

Leave a Reply

