Blog patterns & useless stats

Looking at my calendar of posts, a pattern emerges.  Lately, I almost never blog on Sunday, Wednesday, or Saturday.  Sundays, I fast from the computer.  I don’t even turn it on.  Wednesdays, Ethan has baseball practice in the afternoons, and the time that I would normally spend blogging is spent doing the other stuff that needs to be done around the house during a shortened day.  Saturdays, I hardly ever blog, either.  Since my hubby is gone 11-12 hours a day with commute and work, and since he also has a part-time job as the worship pastor at our church, our family time, which comes pretty much only on Saturday mornings and Sunday afternoons, is short.  Also, Ethan always has a game on Saturday.

In other blog patterns, for ununderstandable reasons, I had my highest traffic ever a couple of days ago, 331 visitors.  I think that’s due to seasonal baking coming upon us.  The blog post that continues to get the most hits is the Big Batch GFCF Christmas/Sugar Cookie Recipe.  As of today, it’s gotten 7,515 total hits, out of 57,976 visitors, accounting for a whopping 13% of all blog visitors.  Cutting Teeth out of Order is in 2nd place, with 8.5% of total traffic.  GF Snack, Breakfast & Lunch Ideas has gotten 4%.  Amo, Amas, Amat, pt. 2 (Your First Latin Lesson!) also has gotten 4%. 

It used to bug me that I was a utilitarian blogger… that most of my visitors weren’t here looking for profound wisdom 🙄 ;  just an answer to their questions.  But, I’ve changed my mind.  I find myself very pleased to be of any help to anyone out there.  It’s humbling, it’s faceless, it shows little concern for me as a person… but, at least it’s easing some minds and providing a service of sorts. 

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on October 26, 2007, in Blogging, Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Googling brings people in for strange things, and it’s so interesting to look at your stats. People come to my blog off a search for “how many legs do insects have?” How random is that?

  2. How funny! Isn’t it interesting to see all the info available to us on our stats page? I just discovered some things the other day that I never knew wordpress did! haha! I know what you mean about certain posts getting more traffic than others. I have some that I just posted because it was something to post on a day when I didn’t have much to say and those have more traffic than some of the posts I’ve poured my heart into! Oh, well! Like you said, if it’s helping someone that’s what really matters to me. 🙂

  3. Which day did you get all of those hits? Could it be that people were looking for Halloween party treats?

    Many of the hits on my blog relate to food allergies as well.

  4. Sara ~ Hm. It just dawned on me that I think I recently spelled your name with an “h.” Can’t remember where. Sorry about that. Yes. Google searches. Frequently hilarious, sometimes scary. I’ve had to really watch what vocabulary I choose so as to attract sick-os. Bummer.

    MLBAH ~ I think I said something similar on a comment on SouthernGirl’s blog… the ones where I pour a lot of heart, thought & effort into are soundly ignored. Oh, well. Keeps me humble.

    Mrs. N ~ I typically get 175-300 hits a day, but I don’t know why there was that peak that day. If it wasn’t for those few posts I mentioned, I wouldn’t have near the numbers I do. I think only 10% (or less) of readers each day visit regularly… the rest just stumble here via a Google search or something.

  5. I come for your profound wisdom. 🙂

    btw, I like the new look of the blog!

  6. Me too. It’s a much cleaner look.

Leave a Reply

